Kellogg’s Chocos Crunchy Bite by Kellogg's — product pack

Pack image shown to identify the product. Decode Label is independent of Kellogg's and is not sponsored or endorsed by it. Trademarks

Compare
Kellogg's

Brand owned by Mars (United States) · about the brand

Kellogg’s Chocos Crunchy Bite

Veg status unverified food
1.8 Concerning

Decode Label Safety Score

Nutrition · 40% 0.3/10
Ingredient safety · 30% 9.3/10
Processing · 20% 2.0/10
Marketing · 10% 9.2/10
How we got 1.8 Show
Weighted score 4.2/10
Score limited by a dominant nutrition concern. 1.8
Also flagged
Contains ammonia caramel colour (E150c/d) — which can generate 4-MEI during manufacture — IARC classifies 4-MEI as Group 2B (possibly carcinogenic to humans); this label does not state its concentration Highly processed (NOVA) and high in sugar Flavours not disclosed — the label does not say which substance this is
Final score 1.8/10 · Concerning

Reviewed 6 times · Methodology v3.1 (updated 8 Oct 2026) — what changed

The score is held down by this product's nutrition profile, which dominates the assessment regardless of the rest of the formulation. This breakfast cereal contains a significant amount of added sugar and includes an ammonia caramel colour (E150c) which is classified by IARC as Group 2B (possibly carcinogenic to humans) due to the potential formation of 4-MEI during its manufacture. While the label does not state the concentration of 4-MEI, this is a notable concern for those seeking to avoid such additives. It may be suitable for healthy adults in moderation, but individuals sensitive to food additives or those monitoring sugar intake should exercise caution.

High added sugar; contains IARC-classified caramel colour and undisclosed flavours

This breakfast cereal is high in added sugar and contains Caramel (INS 150c), an ammonia-process colour. This type of caramel colour is associated with a manufacturing byproduct, 4-MEI, which the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) classifies as possibly carcinogenic to humans. It is a highly processed food with multiple additives.

Consider this product carefully if you are

  • Looking for a lower-sugar option — Added sugar is 30 g per 100 g.
Okay for: Healthy adults in moderation

Declared allergens: Gluten

Gluten· Refined wheat flour, Wheat bran

Relevant if you have this allergy or intolerance.

Based on the declared ingredient list. This is a risk only to people with the allergy, not a general-population safety issue, so it does not lower the safety score.

Concern breakdown What drives the score, concern by concern · score out of 10, higher = fewer concerns
Key risks: Nutrition profile Refined wheat flour

Concern breakdown

Score out of 10 · higher = fewer concerns

How this product performs on each concern we check for food. This is a breakdown of the same evidence behind the score above — not a separate verdict.

Overall Nutritional Value Major concern · 0.3/10
Added & Hidden Sugar Significant concern · 2.0/10
Artificial Colours & Dyes Significant concern · 2.5/10
Preservatives & Additives Significant concern · 2.5/10
Ultra-Processing & Refined Carbs Significant concern · 3.0/10
Protein & Fibre Content Minor concern · 6.0/10
Flavour Enhancers & MSG No concern identified · 8.0/10
Artificial Sweeteners No concern identified · 8.0/10
Unhealthy Fats (Trans & Saturated) No concern identified · 9.0/10

Saturated fat 1.1 g · trans fat 0 g per 100 g/ml

Excess Sodium & Salt No concern identified · 10.0/10

Infants under 1

Avoid

Not suitable due to high added sugar content and the presence of multiple additives, including an IARC Group 2B classified caramel colour.

Toddlers & young children (1–5)

Limit

High added sugar content may contribute to dental caries and unhealthy dietary patterns. The undisclosed flavours and colour may also be a concern for children with sensitivities.

Why the score is capped

Contains ammonia caramel colour (E150c/d) — which can generate 4-MEI during manufacture — IARC classifies 4-MEI as Group 2B (possibly carcinogenic to humans); this label does not state its concentration

Rule F-CAP-10 · Source: IARC / EFSA classification of the additive

Highly processed (NOVA) and high in sugar

Rule F-CAP-07

Flavours not disclosed — the label does not say which substance this is

Rule F-CAP-13

What's good

Contains wheat bran, a source of dietary fiber

Fortified with essential vitamins and minerals

Watch out for

High in added sugar from multiple sources (Sugar, Choco Crème, Invert Syrup)

Contains ammonia caramel colour (E150c), an IARC Group 2B (possibly carcinogenic) additive due to 4-MEI formation

Highly processed food (NOVA-4 classification)

Contains gluten, unsuitable for celiac disease or gluten sensitivity

Antioxidant — if it is Butylated Hydroxyanisole (BHA, E320), it is classified by IARC as Group 2B (possibly carcinogenic to humans).

Ingredient Concerns safety database

Sources cited below may be Indian (FSSAI) or international (EU, US, WHO, IARC) — an international classification or law is evidence, not an Indian regulatory finding.

Wheat Flour

Wheat and wheat-derived ingredients contain gluten, which triggers an autoimmune response in people with celiac disease, causing intestinal damage. People with non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS) or wheat allergy must also avoid this ingredient. Labelled as a major allergen by FSSAI.

Regulatory & scientific authority Source: FSSAI Food Labelling Regulations; Celiac Disease Foundation

Wheat Flour: regulation, sources and other products →

Decode Label Analysis

Contains ammonia caramel colour (E150c), which can generate 4-MEI during manufacture. IARC classifies 4-MEI as Group 2B (possibly carcinogenic to humans). The label does not state its concentration.

If this is Butylated Hydroxyanisole (BHA, E320), it is classified by IARC as Group 2B (possibly carcinogenic to humans).

High in added sugar from multiple sources (Sugar, Choco Crème, Invert Syrup), contributing to a dominant nutrition concern.

Contains gluten from refined wheat flour and wheat bran, making it unsuitable for individuals with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

Claim check

Front-of-pack marketing claims checked against this product's actual ingredients and nutrition. "Can't verify" means the label does not provide enough information to check the claim — it is not the same as the claim being false.

?
"4% of Adult's GDA" Can't verify

The label states '4% of Adult's GDA' but does not provide the full Guideline Daily Amount (GDA) for adults, making it impossible to verify the percentage.

4% of Adult's GDA
✓
"Kellogg's Chocos Crunchy Bites" Checks out

The product name is Kellogg's Chocos Crunchy Bites, which is consistent with the product packaging.

Product name on packaging: Kellogg's Chocos Crunchy Bites
✓
"Energy 90 kcal per pack (23g)" Checks out

The nutrition information states 390 kcal per 100g. For a 23g pack, this calculates to approximately 89.7 kcal, which rounds to 90 kcal.

Energy 390 kcal per 100g Per pack (23g)

Read straight from the back-of-pack photo — quantities, sections and any disguised terms, so the small print can’t hide behind the marketing.

17 entries as printed on the label · 15 distinct ingredients (some are declared more than once).

  • 1.
    Refined Wheat Flour 41%
    Refined Wheat Flour (Maida) (41%)
  • 2.
    Sugar
  • 3.
    Corn Meal
  • 4.
    Wheat Bran
  • 5.
    Choco Crème 5.2%
    Choco Crème (5.2%)
  • Sugar within Choco Crème
  • Edible Vegetable Oil within Choco Crème
    Edible Vegetable Oil (Palm Kernel Oil)
  • Cocoa Solids within Choco Crème
  • Emulsifier within Choco Crème
    PGPR (polyglycerol polyricinoleate) (INS 476)
    Emulsifier (INS 476)
  • 6.
    Invert Syrup
  • 7.
    Iodized Salt
  • 8.
    Flavours undisclosed flavouring
    Flavours {Nature Identical & Artificial (Marshmallow & Vanilla)}
  • 9.
    Cocoa Solids 0.3% trace amount
    Cocoa Solids (0.3%)
  • 10.
    Minerals
  • 11.
    Colour synthetic colour
    Sulphite ammonia caramel (INS 150D)
    Colour (INS 150d)
  • 12.
    Vitamins
  • 13.
    Antioxidant
    BHA (INS 320)
    Antioxidant (INS 320)

Trace amounts: some named ingredients appear in token quantities or low in the list. At these concentrations a meaningful benefit is unlikely, and their front-of-pack prominence may not reflect their level in the formulation.

In label order — normally largest quantity first. Select a row for the full write-up and sources.

These are major food allergens named on the ingredient list. They are a risk only to people allergic to them — not a general-population safety issue — so they do not lower the safety score. Anyone with the allergy should avoid this product, and check the pack’s own allergen statement.

Gluten Allergen on the label: Refined wheat flour, Wheat bran
Allergen
High in sugar High in added sugar
Nutrition (per 100 g) Serving: 30 g
Energy 390 kcal
Protein 7.5 g
Carbohydrate 84.9 g
Total Sugars 31 g
Added Sugars 30 g
Total Fat 3.1 g
Saturated Fat 1.1 g
Trans Fat 0 g
Dietary Fibre 4 g
Sodium 400 mg
Energy from Fat 28 kcal
Monounsaturated Fatty Acids 1 g
Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids 0.5 g
Cholesterol 0 mg
Vitamin C 10 mg
Vitamin B1 0.7 mg
Vitamin B2 0.55 mg
Vitamin B3 5 mg
Vitamin B6 1.3 mg
Vitamin B12 0.33 µg
Folate 40 µg
Iron 5 mg
Calcium 100 mg
Zinc 2 mg

Colour shows the per-100g level (green = low, amber = moderate, red = high), from the product's label.

Compare with other breakfast cereal products

Assessed using the same Decode Label methodology, sorted by score. Each score reflects the information available for that product at the time of assessment.

View all →

What are the ingredients in Kellogg’s Chocos Crunchy Bite?

The label of Kellogg’s Chocos Crunchy Bite lists 15 ingredients, in label order: Refined wheat flour, Corn Meal, Wheat bran, Choco Crème, Sugar, Edible Vegetable Oil, Emulsifier, Invert Syrup, Iodized Salt, Flavours, Cocoa Solids, Minerals, Colour, Vitamins, Antioxidant. Flagged by the analysis: Invert Syrup, Colour, Antioxidant, Choco Crème.

Is Kellogg’s Chocos Crunchy Bite safe to eat?

Kellogg’s Chocos Crunchy Bite scores 1.8/10 on Decode Label (Concerning). This breakfast cereal is high in added sugar and contains Caramel (INS 150c), an ammonia-process colour. This type of caramel colour is associated with a manufacturing byproduct, 4-MEI, which the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) classifies as possibly carcinogenic to humans. It is a highly processed food with multiple additives.

Why does Kellogg’s Chocos Crunchy Bite score 1.8/10?

Flagged in the score: High in added sugar from multiple sources (Sugar, Choco Crème, Invert Syrup). Contains ammonia caramel colour (E150c), an IARC Group 2B (possibly carcinogenic) additive due to 4-MEI formation. Also noted: Highly processed food (NOVA-4 classification).

Who should avoid Kellogg’s Chocos Crunchy Bite?

The points the analysis notes are most relevant to: Avoiding IARC Group 2B caramel-colour additives; Sensitive to undisclosed flavourings; Managing high blood sugar or diabetes; Seeking to reduce intake of highly processed foods; Gluten sensitivity or celiac disease.

Is Kellogg’s Chocos Crunchy Bite suitable for babies or young children?

Infants under 1: Avoid. Toddlers & young children (1–5): Limit.

Does Kellogg’s Chocos Crunchy Bite contain allergens?

Yes — the ingredient list contains gluten (Refined wheat flour and Wheat bran). Check the allergen statement on the pack too if you have a diagnosed allergy.

Does Kellogg’s Chocos Crunchy Bite contain gluten?

Yes — the ingredient list names Refined wheat flour and Wheat bran. People with gluten / wheat sensitivity (coeliac disease) should treat it as containing gluten, and check the allergen statement on the pack too.

Is Kellogg’s Chocos Crunchy Bite high in sugar?

Yes — 31 g of total sugar per 100 g, above the 22.5 g per 100 g that UK front-of-pack labelling marks as high. The label declares 30 g of that as added sugar per 100 g.

Are the claims on the Kellogg’s Chocos Crunchy Bite pack accurate?

Decode Label checked 3 claims against the ingredient list and nutrition panel. "4% of Adult's GDA" — can't be verified from the label.

Answers are generated from this product's own Decode Label analysis — the score, the ingredient list and the label claims shown above. Always check the pack itself for allergen and dietary information.

Reader reviews

How the product performed for people who used it — taste, value, everyday experience. Separate from the Decode Label score above, which rates what is on the label.

Sign in to leave a review.

Sign in →

No reviews yet — be the first to share your experience.

Help us keep this accurate

Two quick questions about our analysis — not about the product.

Was this analysis helpful?

Tells us whether the breakdown above actually answered your question.

Yes No

0 of 0 readers found this analysis helpful

Does your pack match this page?

Recipes change and packs get reformulated. If the ingredients or the panel on the pack in your hand differ from what we show, tell us and we will check it.

It matches Something is different

About this analysis: Based on declared label information and available evidence. Decode Label does not independently laboratory-test products, and a score is not a regulatory determination or medical advice.

Disclaimer: Safety scores are Decode Label-generated assessments based on publicly available regulatory data (FSSAI, WHO, EFSA, IARC) and peer-reviewed research. They are not a substitute for professional medical advice, and they are not a regulatory determination, a laboratory safety certification or a medical diagnosis. Ingredient safety can vary by individual health conditions, concentration, and usage context. Decode Label is an independent information service and scores every brand by the same rules. No brand pays for or influences its score. Our founder also founded the personal-care brand Botani Bestie (see our story); its products are scored exactly like everyone else's. Data limitations: This assessment is based on the information declared on the product label and the evidence sources above — Decode Label does not independently laboratory-test this product. Ingredient concentrations, sourcing and manufacturing can vary between batches and are not always disclosed. A finding that is not shown here means it was not identified from the available label information, not that it has been ruled out.

Report Error

If you believe this score is inaccurate, provide details below. Our team reviews every report and will update the rating if warranted.

Report submitted

Our team will review your report and update the rating if the evidence warrants it. Thank you for helping keep our data accurate.

Share this product

Kellogg’s Chocos Crunchy Bite

Link copied — paste it in your Instagram bio or Story!