Britannia Treat Croissant vs Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi
Decode Label-scored on the concerns that matter for Food — the facts from each label, side by side. We decode, you decide.
Pack images are shown to identify the products. Decode Label is independent of Britannia and Parle and is not sponsored or endorsed by either. Trademarks
What's different
- •Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi has about 41% more protein than Britannia Treat Croissant (7.6 g vs 5.4 g per 100 g/ml).
- •Britannia Treat Croissant has about 93% more saturated fat than Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi (8.9 g vs 4.6 g per 100 g/ml).
- •Only Britannia Treat Croissant lists the flagged ingredients Margarine, Refined Palm Oil and Colours (150d, 129).
- •Only Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi lists the flagged ingredient Improver.
Britannia Treat Croissant
Not ahead on any concern we check.
Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi
Fewer concerns on: Added & Hidden Sugar, Unhealthy Fats (Trans & Saturated), Artificial Colours & Dyes +3 more
Scores: Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi has the higher Decode Label score (4.5 vs 1.5). Which difference matters most depends on who is eating or using it — that's your call.
A higher score means fewer or lighter concerns found under Decode Label's published rules. It is not a medical "safe", and a lower score does not establish that a product is unsafe.
Safety Score
A croissant with higher sugar and saturated fat, and a more extensive list of specific additives and artificial colours.
Safety Score
A rusk with moderate sugar and saturated fat, and fewer listed additives compared to the croissant.
Side by side
What each label says. Nutrition is per 100 g (or ml) so pack and serving sizes don't skew it.
Check the pack for "may contain" warnings if you have an allergy.
Brands choose their own serving sizes, so compare the per-100 figures above.
What these labels can't tell us
- How much of each ingredient is in the product — labels list order, not amounts.
- Cross-contact on the factory line beyond any "may contain" warning, and batch-to-batch variation.
- Anything a laboratory test would find — Decode Label reads labels; it does not test products.
Concern match
A separate lens from the overall Safety Score above — how well each product suits a specific concern, not an overall verdict. Each concern is scored 0–10: higher means less of that concern (5 ≈ neutral).
What matters most to you?
For , scores higher ( vs ). This is only a per-concern fit lens — it doesn't change the overall safety score, where still has the higher score.
For , the two are evenly matched. The overall safety verdict is unchanged.
This one is read from the two ingredient lists rather than measured by the Decode Label engine — useful for choosing, but it is not a safety finding.
Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi contains sugar as its second ingredient, while Britannia Treat Croissant lists sugar as its second ingredient and also includes mixed fruit puree and humectant (420(ii)), contributing to a higher overall sugar content per 100g.
Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi lists edible vegetable oil, contributing to 4.6g of saturated fat per 100g, whereas Britannia Treat Croissant contains margarine and refined palm oil, resulting in a higher 8.9g of saturated fat per 100g.
Both products are formulated with refined wheat flour as their primary ingredient, indicating a similar level of ultra-processing and refined carbohydrate content.
Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi does not list any artificial colours, while Britannia Treat Croissant includes colours (150d, 129).
Neither Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi nor Britannia Treat Croissant explicitly list flavour enhancers or MSG in their ingredients.
Neither Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi nor Britannia Treat Croissant list artificial sweeteners in their ingredients.
Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi lists emulsifiers, antioxidant, and improver without specific numbers, while Britannia Treat Croissant includes a more extensive list of specific additives such as emulsifier (471), stabilizer (440), humectant (420(ii)), preservatives (282 & 202), and acidity regulators (300, 296).
Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi contains wheat flour, suji, wheat gluten, and wheat fibre, contributing to 7.6g of protein per 100g, which is higher than Britannia Treat Croissant's 5.4g of protein per 100g from refined wheat flour and vital gluten.
Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi offers a higher protein content and lower saturated fat and sugar per 100g compared to Britannia Treat Croissant, which has a higher sugar and saturated fat content and a more extensive list of additives and artificial colours.
Britannia Treat Croissant
In its favour, from the label
- Contains vital gluten for structure
Label findings to note
- Very high added sugar
- Contains ammonia caramel colour (E150c/d) — which can generate 4-MEI during manufacture — IARC classifies 4-MEI as Group 2B (possibly carcinogenic to humans); this label does not state its concentration
- Highly processed (NOVA) and high in sugar
- High saturated fat from margarine and refined palm oil
Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi
In its favour, from the label
- Lower saturated fat content
- Lower sugar content
- Fewer specific artificial additives and no artificial colours listed
Label findings to note
- Highly processed (NOVA) and high total sugar
- Emulsifiers not disclosed — the label does not say which substance this is
- Emulsifiers, antioxidant not disclosed — 2 additive classes are named without saying which substances they are
- High in refined carbohydrates
- Contains undisclosed emulsifiers, antioxidant, and improver
Britannia Treat Croissant vs Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi — frequently asked questions
They are about the same. Britannia Treat Croissant has 28.5 g and Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi has 24.4 g of total sugar per 100 g/ml.
Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi has more per 100 g/ml. Britannia Treat Croissant has 5.4 g and Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi has 7.6 g of protein per 100 g/ml.
Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi has less per 100 g/ml. Britannia Treat Croissant has 8.9 g and Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi has 4.6 g of saturated fat per 100 g/ml.
Decode Label rates both as ultra-processed, from their ingredient lists.
Britannia Treat Croissant's ingredient list includes Milk and Gluten. Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi's ingredient list includes Milk and Gluten. Check each pack for "may contain" warnings if you have an allergy.
Britannia Treat Croissant lists Margarine, Refined Palm Oil and Colours (150d, 129). Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi lists Improver.
Flagged ingredients in this comparison
Who classified each one, its regulation, and how common it is across the catalogue.
Related comparisons
Other side-by-sides you may want next.
-
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake
vs
Britannia Treat Croissant
-
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake
vs
Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi
-
Britannia Treat Croissant
vs
Slurrp Farm High Protein Millet Dosa Instant Mix
-
Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi
vs
Slurrp Farm High Protein Millet Dosa Instant Mix
-
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake
vs
Slurrp Farm High Protein Millet Dosa Instant Mix
Comparison generated by Decode Label from each product's listed ingredients. Every score and flagged finding comes from Decode Label's rules engine; the explanations are written with AI and cannot change a score. Always read the actual label.