Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake vs Britannia Treat Croissant
Decode Label-scored on the concerns that matter for Food — the facts from each label, side by side. We decode, you decide.
Pack images are shown to identify the products. Decode Label is independent of Britannia and is not sponsored or endorsed by it. Trademarks
What's different
- •Britannia Treat Croissant has about 37% more total sugar than Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake (28.5 g vs 20.8 g per 100 g/ml).
- •Britannia Treat Croissant has about 30% more added sugar than Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake (26.4 g vs 20.3 g per 100 g/ml).
- •Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake has about 70% more protein than Britannia Treat Croissant (9.2 g vs 5.4 g per 100 g/ml).
- •Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake has about 51% more sodium than Britannia Treat Croissant (213 mg vs 141 mg per 100 g/ml).
- •Britannia Treat Croissant has 2.4× as much saturated fat as Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake (8.9 g vs 3.7 g per 100 g/ml).
- •Only Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake lists the flagged ingredients Refined Palm and Palmolein Oil and Bread Improver.
- •Only Britannia Treat Croissant lists the flagged ingredients Margarine, Refined Palm Oil and Colours (150d, 129).
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake
Fewer concerns on: Added & Hidden Sugar, Unhealthy Fats (Trans & Saturated), Artificial Colours & Dyes +3 more
Britannia Treat Croissant
Not ahead on any concern we check.
Scores: both products fall in the Concerning band, so the small gap between them doesn't make one "safer". See each product's label findings below. Which difference matters most depends on who is eating or using it — that's your call.
A higher score means fewer or lighter concerns found under Decode Label's published rules. It is not a medical "safe", and a lower score does not establish that a product is unsafe.
Safety Score
A rusk with lower sugar and saturated fat compared to the croissant, but still highly processed with unspecified additives.
Safety Score
A croissant high in sugar and saturated fat, containing specific artificial colours and multiple preservatives.
Side by side
What each label says. Nutrition is per 100 g (or ml) so pack and serving sizes don't skew it.
Check the pack for "may contain" warnings if you have an allergy.
Brands choose their own serving sizes, so compare the per-100 figures above.
What these labels can't tell us
- How much of each ingredient is in the product — labels list order, not amounts.
- Cross-contact on the factory line beyond any "may contain" warning, and batch-to-batch variation.
- Anything a laboratory test would find — Decode Label reads labels; it does not test products.
Concern match
A separate lens from the overall Safety Score above — how well each product suits a specific concern, not an overall verdict. Each concern is scored 0–10: higher means less of that concern (5 ≈ neutral).
What matters most to you?
For , scores higher ( vs ). This is only a per-concern fit lens — it doesn't change the overall safety score, where still has the higher score.
For , the two are evenly matched. The overall safety verdict is unchanged.
This one is read from the two ingredient lists rather than measured by the Decode Label engine — useful for choosing, but it is not a safety finding.
Both Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake and Britannia Treat Croissant contain iodised salt, contributing to their sodium content.
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake scores higher due to a lower sugar content per 100g (20.8g) compared to Britannia Treat Croissant (28.5g), despite both listing sugar and invert sugar syrup (Rusk) or mixed fruit puree (Croissant) early in their ingredient lists.
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake has a lower saturated fat content (3.7g per 100g) compared to Britannia Treat Croissant (8.9g per 100g), which lists margarine and refined palm oil higher in its ingredients.
Both products are considered highly processed, with refined wheat flour as their primary ingredient and multiple additives.
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake is rated higher as its 'Colour' is not specified, while Britannia Treat Croissant explicitly lists Colours (150d, 129), with 150d being ammonia caramel.
Neither Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake nor Britannia Treat Croissant explicitly list MSG or common flavour enhancers, beyond general 'flavouring substances'.
Neither Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake nor Britannia Treat Croissant list any artificial sweeteners in their ingredients.
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake is rated higher as it lists 'Emulsifiers', 'Spice', 'Bread Improver', and 'Antioxidant' generally, whereas Britannia Treat Croissant explicitly lists specific Emulsifier (471), Stabilizer (440), Humectant (420(ii)), Preservatives (282 & 202), and Acidity Regulators (300, 296).
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake contains more protein (9.2g per 100g) and lists wheat fiber, while Britannia Treat Croissant has a lower protein content (5.4g per 100g) and does not list added fiber.
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake offers a slightly better nutritional profile with lower sugar and saturated fat, and higher protein, compared to Britannia Treat Croissant.
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake
In its favour, from the label
- Lower sugar content per 100g
- Lower saturated fat content per 100g
- Higher protein content per 100g
Label findings to note
- Highly processed (NOVA) and high in sugar
- Colour, emulsifiers, antioxidant not disclosed — 3 additive classes are named without saying which substances they are
- High in refined wheat flour and sugar
- Contains refined palm and palmolein oil
Britannia Treat Croissant
In its favour, from the label
- No trans fat listed
Label findings to note
- Very high added sugar
- Contains ammonia caramel colour (E150c/d) — which can generate 4-MEI during manufacture — IARC classifies 4-MEI as Group 2B (possibly carcinogenic to humans); this label does not state its concentration
- Highly processed (NOVA) and high in sugar
- Very high sugar content per 100g
- High saturated fat content per 100g from margarine and refined palm oil
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake vs Britannia Treat Croissant — frequently asked questions
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake has less per 100 g/ml. Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake has 20.8 g and Britannia Treat Croissant has 28.5 g of total sugar per 100 g/ml.
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake has less per 100 g/ml. Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake has 20.3 g and Britannia Treat Croissant has 26.4 g of added sugar per 100 g/ml.
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake has more per 100 g/ml. Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake has 9.2 g and Britannia Treat Croissant has 5.4 g of protein per 100 g/ml.
Britannia Treat Croissant has less per 100 g/ml. Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake has 213 mg and Britannia Treat Croissant has 141 mg of sodium per 100 g/ml.
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake has less per 100 g/ml. Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake has 3.7 g and Britannia Treat Croissant has 8.9 g of saturated fat per 100 g/ml.
Decode Label rates both as ultra-processed, from their ingredient lists.
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake's ingredient list includes Milk and Gluten. Britannia Treat Croissant's ingredient list includes Milk and Gluten. Check each pack for "may contain" warnings if you have an allergy.
Flagged ingredients in this comparison
Who classified each one, its regulation, and how common it is across the catalogue.
Related comparisons
Other side-by-sides you may want next.
-
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake
vs
Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi
-
Britannia Rusk Toastea Premium Bake
vs
Slurrp Farm High Protein Millet Dosa Instant Mix
-
Britannia Treat Croissant
vs
Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi
-
Britannia Treat Croissant
vs
Slurrp Farm High Protein Millet Dosa Instant Mix
-
Parle Rusk, Unflavoured Elachi
vs
Slurrp Farm High Protein Millet Dosa Instant Mix
Comparison generated by Decode Label from each product's listed ingredients. Every score and flagged finding comes from Decode Label's rules engine; the explanations are written with AI and cannot change a score. Always read the actual label.