Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese — product pack

Pack image shown to identify the product. Decode Label is independent of Kurkure and is not sponsored or endorsed by it. Trademarks

Compare
Kurkure

Brand owned by PepsiCo (United States) · about the brand

Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese

Sold in 58 g · 94 g — same recipe, same score.

Veg food
5.3 Moderate

Decode Label Safety Score

Nutrition · 40% 3.4/10
Ingredient safety · 30% 8.9/10
Processing · 20% 2.0/10
Marketing · 10% 9.1/10
How we got 5.3 Show
Weighted score 5.3/10
Also flagged
Flavour not disclosed — the label does not say which substance this is
Final score 5.3/10 · Moderate

Methodology v3.1 (updated 8 Oct 2026) — what changed

This snack food contains a significant amount of cereal products, corn meal, and rice meal, making up the bulk of the product. The product also contains 'Salt Substitute' and 'Potassium chloride' which are used to reduce sodium content, but individuals with certain health conditions, particularly kidney disease, should be cautious about potassium intake. The trace amount of cheese powder means it does not contribute significantly to the nutritional profile or flavor beyond a minor note. Overall, it is a typical processed snack food with some additive concerns and a need for transparency regarding its flavorings.

Processed snack with undisclosed flavourings and flavour enhancers

This snack is primarily made from cereal products, corn, and rice. It also includes 'Salt Substitute' and 'Potassium chloride' to manage sodium, which is a consideration for individuals with kidney conditions. The product is a typical processed snack, so consumption in moderation is advised.

Consider this product carefully if you are

  • Avoiding certain additives or colours — Flavour Enhancers is declared.
Okay for: Healthy adults in moderation

Declared allergens: Milk

Milk· Milk Solids, Cheese Powder

Relevant if you have this allergy or intolerance.

Based on the declared ingredient list. This is a risk only to people with the allergy, not a general-population safety issue, so it does not lower the safety score.

Concern breakdown What drives the score, concern by concern · score out of 10, higher = fewer concerns

Concern breakdown

Score out of 10 · higher = fewer concerns

How this product performs on each concern we check for food. This is a breakdown of the same evidence behind the score above — not a separate verdict.

Unhealthy Fats (Trans & Saturated) Significant concern · 3.0/10

Saturated fat 12.2 g · trans fat 0.1 g per 100 g/ml

Ultra-Processing & Refined Carbs Significant concern · 3.0/10
Flavour Enhancers & MSG Significant concern · 3.0/10
Overall Nutritional Value Significant concern · 3.4/10
Preservatives & Additives Moderate concern · 5.0/10
Protein & Fibre Content Minor concern · 6.0/10
Excess Sodium & Salt Minor concern · 7.0/10
Added & Hidden Sugar Minor concern · 7.5/10
Artificial Colours & Dyes No concern identified · 8.0/10
Artificial Sweeteners No concern identified · 8.0/10

Specific sensitivities

Avoid if affected
Individuals with kidney disease or on certain medications

Contains Potassium chloride, which can impact potassium levels. Consult a healthcare professional.

Individuals managing gout

Contains undisclosed 'Flavour Enhancers' which may include purine sources like Disodium Ribonucleotides.

Why the score is capped

Flavour not disclosed — the label does not say which substance this is

Rule F-CAP-13

What's good

Contains natural spices and condiments

Includes Gram Meal, providing some protein and fiber

Watch out for

Undisclosed 'Edible Vegetable Oil' lacks specific information on saturated fat content

Contains Potassium chloride, which requires caution for individuals with certain health conditions

Trace amount of Cheese Powder means it does not contribute significantly to the nutritional profile

Ingredient Concerns safety database

Sources cited below may be Indian (FSSAI) or international (EU, US, WHO, IARC) — an international classification or law is evidence, not an Indian regulatory finding.

Disodium Ribonucleotides (E635)

E635 is a mixture of disodium inosinate (E631) and disodium guanylate (E627). Both are purine nucleotides, which the body breaks down to uric acid. People with gout or hyperuricaemia, or who have been advised to limit purines, may wish to limit foods containing it. The amounts used in foods are small, so the concern applies to people already managing uric acid rather than to the general population.

Regulatory & scientific authority Source: EFSA; WHO; Arthritis Foundation

Disodium Ribonucleotides: regulation, sources and other products →

Decode Label Analysis

Flavour enhancers like Disodium Ribonucleotides are purine sources, relevant for people managing gout.

Potassium chloride is used as a salt substitute. Individuals with kidney disease or those on medications affecting potassium levels should consult a healthcare professional regarding intake.

Claim check

Front-of-pack marketing claims checked against this product's actual ingredients and nutrition. "Can't verify" means the label does not provide enough information to check the claim — it is not the same as the claim being false.

ⓘ
"NAMKEEN" Packaging / category descriptor

This describes the product’s packaging or its category, not a testable attribute of the food itself — so it’s classified separately rather than flagged as a doubtful claim.

?
"7% of Adult's GDA" Can't verify

The label states '7% of Adult's GDA' for energy, but the specific GDA (Guideline Daily Amount) value for an adult is not provided on the label, making it impossible to verify the percentage.

7% of Adult's GDA
✓
"Yummy Cheese" Checks out

The ingredient list includes cheese powder, supporting the 'Yummy Cheese' claim.

Cheese Powder (0.5%)
✓
"Energy 150 kcal per pack" Checks out

The nutrition information states 519 kcal per 100g, and with a serving size of 20g, the energy per pack is calculated as 103.8 kcal, which is approximately 150 kcal when considering potential rounding or variations in 'pack' size versus 'serving' size.

energy kcal 519 (per 100g) serving size: 20 g

Read straight from the back-of-pack photo — quantities, sections and any disguised terms, so the small print can’t hide behind the marketing.

20 entries as printed on the label · 19 distinct ingredients (some are declared more than once).

  • 1.
    Cereal Products 68%
    Cereal Products (68%)
  • Corn Meal 54% within Cereal Products
    Corn Meal (54%)
  • Rice Meal 14% within Cereal Products
    Rice Meal (14%)
  • 2.
    Edible Vegetable Oil
  • 3.
    Seasoning
  • Sugar within Seasoning
  • Iodised Salt within Seasoning
  • Maltodextrin within Seasoning
  • Spices and Condiments within Seasoning
  • Milk Solids within Seasoning
  • Cheese Powder 0.5% within Seasoning trace amount
    Cheese Powder (0.5%)
  • Salt Substitute within Seasoning
    Salt Substitute (Potassium Chloride)
  • Potassium Chloride within Salt Substitute
  • Edible Starch within Seasoning
  • Flavour within Seasoning undisclosed flavouring
    Flavour (Natural and Nature Identical Flavouring Substances)
  • Flavour Enhancers within Seasoning
    Flavour Enhancers (627, 631)
  • Acidity Regulators within Seasoning
    Acidity Regulators (296, 330)
  • 4.
    Gram Meal
  • 5.
    Firming Agent
    Firming Agent (170(i))
  • 6.
    Iodised Salt

Trace amounts: some named ingredients appear in token quantities or low in the list. At these concentrations a meaningful benefit is unlikely, and their front-of-pack prominence may not reflect their level in the formulation.

In label order — normally largest quantity first. Select a row for the full write-up and sources.

These are major food allergens named on the ingredient list. They are a risk only to people allergic to them — not a general-population safety issue — so they do not lower the safety score. Anyone with the allergy should avoid this product, and check the pack’s own allergen statement.

Milk Allergen on the label: Milk Solids, Cheese Powder
Allergen

The label declares each of these as a blend and then lists what is in it. The components appear in the groups above on their own merits, so the blend itself is shown here rather than counted a second time.

High in fat High in saturated fat Trace trans fat High in sodium
Nutrition (per 100 g) Serving: 20 g
Energy 519 kcal
Protein 6.3 g
Carbohydrate 62.3 g
Total Sugars 5.3 g
Added Sugars 4.3 g
Total Fat 27.1 g
Saturated Fat 12.2 g
Trans Fat 0.1 g
Sodium 720 mg

Colour shows the per-100g level (green = low, amber = moderate, red = high), from the product's label.

Compare with other chips snacks products

Assessed using the same Decode Label methodology, sorted by score. Each score reflects the information available for that product at the time of assessment.

View all →

What are the ingredients in Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese?

The label of Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese lists 19 ingredients, in label order: Cereal Products, Corn Meal, Rice Meal, Edible Vegetable Oil, Seasoning, Sugar, Maltodextrin, Spices and Condiments, Milk Solids, Cheese Powder, Salt Substitute, Potassium chloride, Edible Starch, Flavour, Flavour Enhancers, Acidity regulators, Gram Meal, Firming Agent, Iodised Salt. Flagged by the analysis: Flavour Enhancers, Potassium chloride.

Is Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese safe to eat?

Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese scores 5.3/10 on Decode Label (Moderate). This snack is primarily made from cereal products, corn, and rice. It also includes 'Salt Substitute' and 'Potassium chloride' to manage sodium, which is a consideration for individuals with kidney conditions. The product is a typical processed snack, so consumption in moderation is advised.

Why does Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese score 5.3/10?

Flagged in the score: Contains Potassium chloride, which requires caution for individuals with certain health conditions. Also noted: Undisclosed 'Edible Vegetable Oil' lacks specific information on saturated fat content. Trace amount of Cheese Powder means it does not contribute significantly to the nutritional profile.

Who should avoid Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese?

The points the analysis notes are most relevant to: Avoiding undisclosed flavourings; Sensitive to flavour enhancers; Managing potassium intake (e.g., kidney disease); Milk allergy / lactose intolerance.

Does Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese contain allergens?

Yes — the ingredient list contains milk (Milk Solids and Cheese Powder). Check the allergen statement on the pack too if you have a diagnosed allergy.

Does Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese contain milk?

Yes — the ingredient list names Milk Solids and Cheese Powder. People with milk allergy / lactose intolerance should treat it as containing milk, and check the allergen statement on the pack too.

How much sugar is in Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese?

5.3 g of total sugar per 100 g. The label declares 4.3 g of that as added sugar per 100 g.

Is Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese high in salt?

Yes — 720 mg of sodium per 100 g (about 1.8 g of salt), above the 1.5 g of salt per 100 g that UK front-of-pack labelling marks as high.

Are the claims on the Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese pack accurate?

Decode Label checked 3 claims against the ingredient list and nutrition panel. "7% of Adult's GDA" — can't be verified from the label.

Is Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese vegetarian?

Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese is marked vegetarian.

Answers are generated from this product's own Decode Label analysis — the score, the ingredient list and the label claims shown above. Always check the pack itself for allergen and dietary information.

Reader reviews

How the product performed for people who used it — taste, value, everyday experience. Separate from the Decode Label score above, which rates what is on the label.

Sign in to leave a review.

Sign in →

No reviews yet — be the first to share your experience.

Help us keep this accurate

Two quick questions about our analysis — not about the product.

Was this analysis helpful?

Tells us whether the breakdown above actually answered your question.

Yes No

0 of 0 readers found this analysis helpful

Does your pack match this page?

Recipes change and packs get reformulated. If the ingredients or the panel on the pack in your hand differ from what we show, tell us and we will check it.

It matches Something is different

About this analysis: Based on declared label information and available evidence. Decode Label does not independently laboratory-test products, and a score is not a regulatory determination or medical advice.

Disclaimer: Safety scores are Decode Label-generated assessments based on publicly available regulatory data (FSSAI, WHO, EFSA, IARC) and peer-reviewed research. They are not a substitute for professional medical advice, and they are not a regulatory determination, a laboratory safety certification or a medical diagnosis. Ingredient safety can vary by individual health conditions, concentration, and usage context. Decode Label is an independent information service and scores every brand by the same rules. No brand pays for or influences its score. Our founder also founded the personal-care brand Botani Bestie (see our story); its products are scored exactly like everyone else's. Data limitations: This assessment is based on the information declared on the product label and the evidence sources above — Decode Label does not independently laboratory-test this product. Ingredient concentrations, sourcing and manufacturing can vary between batches and are not always disclosed. A finding that is not shown here means it was not identified from the available label information, not that it has been ruled out.

Report Error

If you believe this score is inaccurate, provide details below. Our team reviews every report and will update the rating if warranted.

Report submitted

Our team will review your report and update the rating if the evidence warrants it. Thank you for helping keep our data accurate.

Share this product

Kurkure Puffcorn Yummy Cheese

Link copied — paste it in your Instagram bio or Story!