Head-to-head
Pure Magic Choco Stars by Britannia — product pack 3.9 /10
VS
Pure Magic Choco Tarts by Britannia — product pack 4.5 /10

Pure Magic Choco Stars vs Pure Magic Choco Tarts

Decode Label-scored on the concerns that matter for Food — the facts from each label, side by side. We decode, you decide.

Pack images are shown to identify the products. Decode Label is independent of Britannia and is not sponsored or endorsed by it. Trademarks

What's different

  • •Only Pure Magic Choco Stars lists the flagged ingredient Colours.
  • •Only Pure Magic Choco Tarts lists the flagged ingredient Raising Agents.
  • •1 claim on the Pure Magic Choco Tarts pack did not hold up against its own label.

Scores: Pure Magic Choco Tarts has the higher Decode Label score (4.5 vs 3.9). Which difference matters most depends on who is eating or using it — that's your call.

A higher score means fewer or lighter concerns found under Decode Label's published rules. It is not a medical "safe", and a lower score does not establish that a product is unsafe.

Pure Magic Choco Stars
Veg Jain
3.9 / 10

Safety Score

Britannia Pure Magic Choco Stars is a biscuit with refined flour, sugar, and palm oil, featuring cocoa powder and dark chocolate.

VS
Pure Magic Choco Tarts
Veg Jain
4.5 / 10

Safety Score

Britannia Pure Magic Choco Tarts is a tart with refined flour, sugar, and palm oil, notable for including wheat bran and milk chocolate.

Side by side

What each label says. Nutrition is per 100 g (or ml) so pack and serving sizes don't skew it.

Factor Pure Magic Choco Stars Pure Magic Choco Tarts
Total sugar
Not on file 22 g
Protein
Not on file 7 g
Fibre
Not on file 14 g
Sodium
Not on file 250 mg
Saturated fat
Not on file 0.9 g
Energy
Not on file 360 kcal
Processing level
Not assessed Ultra-processed
Ingredients of concern
Refined Palm Oil, Interesterified Vegetable Fat, Colours Refined Palm Oil, Interesterified Vegetable Fat, Raising Agents
Allergens in the ingredient list

Check the pack for "may contain" warnings if you have an allergy.

Milk, Gluten Milk, Gluten
Pack claims checked
1 checked — 1 held up 3 checked — 2 held up, 1 did not
What we could read
16 ingredients listed; nutrition panel not on file 16 ingredients listed; nutrition panel on file

"Not on file" means we have no nutrition panel for that product yet — it is a gap in our data, not a finding about the product.

What these labels can't tell us

  • How much of each ingredient is in the product — labels list order, not amounts.
  • Cross-contact on the factory line beyond any "may contain" warning, and batch-to-batch variation.
  • Anything a laboratory test would find — Decode Label reads labels; it does not test products.

Concern match

A separate lens from the overall Safety Score above — how well each product suits a specific concern, not an overall verdict. Each concern is scored 0–10: higher means less of that concern (5 ≈ neutral).

What matters most to you?

Legend
Pure Magic Choco Stars Pure Magic Choco Tarts
Artificial Colours & Dyes Even
8.0
8.0

Both Britannia Pure Magic Choco Stars and Britannia Pure Magic Choco Tarts list 'Colours' without further specification, indicating a similar approach to colouring agents.

Flavour Enhancers & MSG Even
8.0
8.0

Neither Britannia Pure Magic Choco Stars nor Britannia Pure Magic Choco Tarts explicitly list MSG or other common flavour enhancers, resulting in an even assessment.

Artificial Sweeteners Even
8.0
8.0

Both Britannia Pure Magic Choco Stars and Britannia Pure Magic Choco Tarts primarily use sugar and invert sugar syrup/honey for sweetness and do not list artificial sweeteners.

Preservatives & Additives Even
8.0
8.0

Both Britannia Pure Magic Choco Stars and Britannia Pure Magic Choco Tarts list 'Emulsifiers' and 'Raising Agents' without further detail, suggesting a comparable additive load in these categories.

Pure Magic Choco Stars

In its favour, from the label

  • Contains Dark Chocolate
  • Includes Cocoa powder

Label findings to note

  • Contains ammonia caramel colour (E150c/d) — which can generate 4-MEI during manufacture — IARC classifies 4-MEI as Group 2B (possibly carcinogenic to humans); this label does not state its concentration
  • High in refined wheat flour and sugar
  • Contains refined palm oil and interesterified vegetable fat
  • Lists 'Colours' and 'Nature identical & Artificial Flavouring Substances'

Pure Magic Choco Tarts

In its favour, from the label

  • Includes Wheat bran
  • Contains Milk Chocolate
  • Lists Honey

Label findings to note

  • Highly processed (NOVA) and high total sugar
  • Raising agents, emulsifiers not disclosed — 2 additive classes are named without saying which substances they are
  • High in refined wheat flour and sugar
  • Contains refined palm oil and interesterified vegetable fat
  • Lists 'Nature Identical & Artificial (Condensed Milk & Dark Chocolate) Flavouring Substances'

Pure Magic Choco Stars vs Pure Magic Choco Tarts — frequently asked questions

Pure Magic Choco Stars's ingredient list includes Milk and Gluten. Pure Magic Choco Tarts's ingredient list includes Milk and Gluten. Check each pack for "may contain" warnings if you have an allergy.

Pure Magic Choco Stars lists Refined Palm Oil, Interesterified Vegetable Fat and Colours. Pure Magic Choco Tarts lists Refined Palm Oil, Interesterified Vegetable Fat and Raising Agents.

Flagged ingredients in this comparison

Who classified each one, its regulation, and how common it is across the catalogue.

Comparison generated by Decode Label from each product's listed ingredients. Every score and flagged finding comes from Decode Label's rules engine; the explanations are written with AI and cannot change a score. Always read the actual label.