Kurkure Masala Munch — product pack

Pack image shown to identify the product. Decode Label is independent of Kurkure and is not sponsored or endorsed by it. Trademarks

Compare
Kurkure

Brand owned by PepsiCo (United States) · about the brand

Kurkure Masala Munch

Sold in 41.5 g · 94 g — same recipe, same score.

Veg Jain food
5.5 Moderate

Decode Label Safety Score

Nutrition · 40% 5.2/10
Ingredient safety · 30% 9.8/10
Processing · 20% 2.0/10
Marketing · 10% 8.9/10
How we got 5.5 Show
Weighted score 6.3/10
Capped — Energy-dense fried snack — 555 kcal and 34 g fat per 100 g, on added vegetable oil ≤ 5.5
Capped — Flavour not disclosed — the label does not say which substance this is ≤ 5.5
Final score 5.5/10 · Moderate

Methodology v3.1 (updated 8 Oct 2026) — what changed

This snack product is primarily composed of cereal meals and edible vegetable oil, contributing to its high calorie and fat content. While the product contains common spices and condiments, the overall nutritional profile, particularly the high fat from added oil, suggests it should be consumed in moderation as an occasional treat rather than a dietary staple.

At a glance

From the declared label — not a lab test

Findings to weigh

What’s favorable

  • Spices & Condiments
  • Tomato Powder

High in calories and fat from added oil; contains undisclosed flavourings

This snack is an energy-dense product, primarily due to its high fat content from added edible vegetable oil. The label lists 'Flavour' and 'Flavouring Agent' without further detail, which means the specific compounds used for taste are not transparently disclosed. While generally safe for most adults, individuals monitoring fat intake or with sensitivities to undisclosed flavourings should be cautious.

Okay for: Healthy adults in moderation
Concern breakdown What drives the score, concern by concern · score out of 10, higher = fewer concerns
Key risks: Energy-dense fried snack — 555 kcal and 34 g fat per 100 g, on added vegetable oil

Concern breakdown

Score out of 10 · higher = fewer concerns

How this product performs on each concern we check for food. This is a breakdown of the same evidence behind the score above — not a separate verdict.

Ultra-Processing & Refined Carbs Significant concern · 3.0/10
Unhealthy Fats (Trans & Saturated) Moderate concern · 4.5/10

Saturated fat 7.7 g · trans fat 0.1 g per 100 g/ml

Overall Nutritional Value Moderate concern · 5.2/10
Protein & Fibre Content Minor concern · 6.0/10
Excess Sodium & Salt Minor concern · 7.0/10
Preservatives & Additives Minor concern · 7.0/10
Artificial Colours & Dyes No concern identified · 8.0/10
Flavour Enhancers & MSG No concern identified · 8.0/10
Artificial Sweeteners No concern identified · 8.0/10
Added & Hidden Sugar No concern identified · 9.0/10

Toddlers & young children (1–5)

Limit

High sodium and added sugar content may not be suitable for frequent consumption by young children. The undisclosed 'Colour' could also be a concern if it includes artificial colours linked to hyperactivity.

Why the score is capped

Energy-dense fried snack — 555 kcal and 34 g fat per 100 g, on added vegetable oil

Rule F-CAP-14

Flavour not disclosed — the label does not say which substance this is

Rule F-CAP-13

What's good

Contains natural spices and condiments for flavour

Watch out for

High in calories and fat from added edible vegetable oil

Undisclosed 'Flavour' and 'Flavouring Agent'

High sodium content from iodised salt and black salt

Contains added sugar

Decode Label Analysis

The product contains undisclosed 'Flavour' and 'Flavouring Agent'.

Some artificial colours are linked to hyperactivity in children, and lack of disclosure prevents informed choice.

Claim check

Front-of-pack marketing claims checked against this product's actual ingredients and nutrition. "Can't verify" means the label does not provide enough information to check the claim — it is not the same as the claim being false.

?
"NO ARTIFICIAL COLOURS & FLAVOURS" Can't verify

The label declares Colour without naming what it is, so the list cannot establish whether this product contains a synthetic colour.

?
"6% of Adult's RDA (Energy)" Can't verify

The label states 111 kcal per serving, but does not provide the recommended daily allowance (RDA) for energy, so the percentage cannot be verified.

Energy 111 kcal (per 20g serving)
✓
"MADE WITH RICE, CORN & DAL." Checks out

The ingredients list Rice Meal, Corn Meal, and Gram Meal (Dal), supporting the claim.

Rice Meal (44%) Corn Meal (23%) Gram Meal (0.4%)
✓
"Energy 111 kcal per serve (20g)" Checks out

The nutrition information states 555 kcal per 100g, which calculates to 111 kcal per 20g serving.

energy kcal 555 (per 100g) serving size: 20g

Read straight from the back-of-pack photo — quantities, sections and any disguised terms, so the small print can’t hide behind the marketing.

  • 1.
    Cereal Products 67%
    Cereal Products (67%)
  • Rice Meal 44% within Cereal Products
    Rice Meal (44%)
  • Corn Meal 23% within Cereal Products
    Corn Meal (23%)
  • 2.
    Edible Vegetable Oil
    Edible Vegetable Oil (Rice Bran Oil)
  • 3.
    Seasoning
  • Spices & Condiments within Seasoning
  • Iodised Salt within Seasoning
  • Sugar within Seasoning
  • Flavour within Seasoning
    Flavour (Natural And Nature Identical Flavouring Substances)
  • Black Salt within Seasoning
  • Tomato Powder within Seasoning
  • Acidity Regulators within Seasoning
    Acidity Regulators (330, 296, 334)
  • Colour within Seasoning synthetic colour
    Paprika extract (INS 160C)
    Colour (160c)
  • Maltodextrin within Seasoning
  • Gram Meal 0.4% within Seasoning trace amount
    Gram Meal (0.4%)
  • 4.
    Flavouring Agent

Trace amounts: some named ingredients appear in token quantities or low in the list. At these concentrations a meaningful benefit is unlikely, and their front-of-pack prominence may not reflect their level in the formulation.

In label order — normally largest quantity first. Select a row for the full write-up and sources.

The label declares each of these as a blend and then lists what is in it. The components appear in the groups above on their own merits, so the blend itself is shown here rather than counted a second time.

High in fat High in saturated fat Trace trans fat High in sodium
Nutrition (per 100 g) Serving: 20g
Energy 555 kcal
Protein 6 g
Carbohydrate 57.3 g
Total Sugars 1.4 g
Added Sugars 0.8 g
Total Fat 33.6 g
Saturated Fat 7.7 g
Trans Fat 0.1 g
Sodium 694 mg

Colour shows the per-100g level (green = low, amber = moderate, red = high), from the product's label.

Compare with other chips snacks products

Assessed using the same Decode Label methodology, sorted by score. Each score reflects the information available for that product at the time of assessment.

View all →

What are the ingredients in Kurkure Masala Munch?

The label of Kurkure Masala Munch lists 16 ingredients, in label order: Cereal Products, Rice Meal, Corn Meal, Edible Vegetable Oil, Seasoning, Spices & Condiments, Iodised Salt, Sugar, Flavour, Black Salt, Tomato Powder, Acidity regulators, Colour, Maltodextrin, Gram Meal, Flavouring Agent. None of them is flagged by the analysis.

Is Kurkure Masala Munch safe to eat?

Kurkure Masala Munch scores 5.5/10 on Decode Label (Moderate). This snack is an energy-dense product, primarily due to its high fat content from added edible vegetable oil. The label lists 'Flavour' and 'Flavouring Agent' without further detail, which means the specific compounds used for taste are not transparently disclosed. While generally safe for most adults, individuals monitoring fat intake or with sensitivities to undisclosed flavourings should be cautious.

Why does Kurkure Masala Munch score 5.5/10?

What the analysis notes: High in calories and fat from added edible vegetable oil. Undisclosed 'Flavour' and 'Flavouring Agent'. High sodium content from iodised salt and black salt.

Who should avoid Kurkure Masala Munch?

The points the analysis notes are most relevant to: Monitoring fat intake; Sensitive to undisclosed flavourings; Avoiding highly processed foods.

Is Kurkure Masala Munch suitable for babies or young children?

Toddlers & young children (1–5): Limit.

How much sugar is in Kurkure Masala Munch?

1.4 g of total sugar per 100 g. The label declares 0.8 g of that as added sugar per 100 g.

Is Kurkure Masala Munch high in salt?

Yes — 694 mg of sodium per 100 g (about 1.74 g of salt), above the 1.5 g of salt per 100 g that UK front-of-pack labelling marks as high.

Are the claims on the Kurkure Masala Munch pack accurate?

Decode Label checked 4 claims against the ingredient list and nutrition panel. "NO ARTIFICIAL COLOURS & FLAVOURS" — can't be verified from the label. "6% of Adult's RDA (Energy)" — can't be verified from the label.

Is Kurkure Masala Munch vegetarian?

Kurkure Masala Munch is marked vegetarian.

Answers are generated from this product's own Decode Label analysis — the score, the ingredient list and the label claims shown above. Always check the pack itself for allergen and dietary information.

Reader reviews

How the product performed for people who used it — taste, value, everyday experience. Separate from the Decode Label score above, which rates what is on the label.

Sign in to leave a review.

Sign in →

No reviews yet — be the first to share your experience.

Help us keep this accurate

Two quick questions about our analysis — not about the product.

Was this analysis helpful?

Tells us whether the breakdown above actually answered your question.

Yes No

0 of 0 readers found this analysis helpful

Does your pack match this page?

Recipes change and packs get reformulated. If the ingredients or the panel on the pack in your hand differ from what we show, tell us and we will check it.

It matches Something is different

About this analysis: Based on declared label information and available evidence. Decode Label does not independently laboratory-test products, and a score is not a regulatory determination or medical advice.

Disclaimer: Safety scores are Decode Label-generated assessments based on publicly available regulatory data (FSSAI, WHO, EFSA, IARC) and peer-reviewed research. They are not a substitute for professional medical advice, and they are not a regulatory determination, a laboratory safety certification or a medical diagnosis. Ingredient safety can vary by individual health conditions, concentration, and usage context. Decode Label is an independent information service and scores every brand by the same rules. No brand pays for or influences its score. Our founder also founded the personal-care brand Botani Bestie (see our story); its products are scored exactly like everyone else's. Data limitations: This assessment is based on the information declared on the product label and the evidence sources above — Decode Label does not independently laboratory-test this product. Ingredient concentrations, sourcing and manufacturing can vary between batches and are not always disclosed. A finding that is not shown here means it was not identified from the available label information, not that it has been ruled out.

Report Error

If you believe this score is inaccurate, provide details below. Our team reviews every report and will update the rating if warranted.

Report submitted

Our team will review your report and update the rating if the evidence warrants it. Thank you for helping keep our data accurate.

Share this product

Kurkure Masala Munch

Link copied — paste it in your Instagram bio or Story!