Pack image shown to identify the product. Decode Label is independent of Koala's March and is not sponsored or endorsed by it. Trademarks
Brand founded in Japan, 1984 · about the brand
Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits
Decode Label Safety Score
How we got 1.5 ShowHide
Reviewed 4 times · Methodology v3.1 (updated 8 Oct 2026) — what changed
This chocolate candy is a highly processed food with significant nutritional drawbacks, primarily due to its very high saturated fat content from fully hydrogenated palm kernel oil and palm kernel oil, and a substantial amount of added sugar. While it contains some trace nutrients like calcium carbonate, these are not counted as a formulation strength at the declared levels. The presence of fully hydrogenated palm kernel oil is a major concern due to its high saturated fat, which contributes to an elevated risk of cardiovascular issues. The product is also high in overall sugar, making it unsuitable for regular consumption, especially for young children. Individuals with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease must avoid this product due to the presence of wheat flour.
At a glance
From the declared label — not a lab testFindings to weigh
What’s favorable
- Cocoa powder
- Cocoa Mass
High saturated fat and sugar; contains hydrogenated oil and wheat gluten.
This chocolate candy is high in saturated fat from hydrogenated palm kernel oil and contains a significant amount of added sugar, making it a concern most relevant to regular consumption. It also contains wheat flour, so it is not suitable for individuals with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease. The product is highly processed with multiple additives.
Consider this product carefully if you are
- Looking for a lower-sugar option — Added sugar is 35.1 g per 100 g.
- Avoiding certain additives or colours — Fully Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil is declared.
Declared allergens: Milk, Soy and Gluten
Relevant if you have any of these allergies or intolerances.
Based on the declared ingredient list. This is a risk only to people with the allergy, not a general-population safety issue, so it does not lower the safety score.
Concern breakdown
Score out of 10 · higher = fewer concernsHow this product performs on each concern we check for food. This is a breakdown of the same evidence behind the score above — not a separate verdict.
Saturated fat 6.7 g · trans fat 0 g per serving
Infants under 1
AvoidContains added sugar, which is not recommended for infants under 1 year of age.
Toddlers & young children (1–5)
LimitThis product is high in added sugar and saturated fat, which are not recommended for regular consumption by young children due to potential impacts on dental health, weight, and overall dietary balance.
Why the score is capped
Highly processed (NOVA) and high in sugar
Rule F-CAP-07
Very high saturated fat
Rule F-CAP-08
Watch out for
Very high saturated fat content from fully hydrogenated palm kernel oil and palm kernel oil.
High added sugar content from sugar and invert sugar.
Contains caramel colour, which may contain 4-MeI, a possible carcinogen (IARC Group 2B).
Contains wheat flour, making it unsuitable for individuals with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease.
Highly processed food with multiple additives.
Shortening — typically a blend of fats, often high in saturated fat, contributing to the overall fat load.
Cacao Flavour — a flavouring blend. Flavour substances are FSSAI/JECFA-evaluated, and labelling rules permit them to be declared by category ("natural", "nature identical", "artificial") rather than by individual compound — so the specific substances used are usually not disclosed. That means someone avoiding artificial flavourings, or with a known sensitivity, cannot verify what is in it. Noted as a moderate, transparency-level concern rather than a hazard.
Vanilla Flavour — a flavouring blend. Flavour substances are FSSAI/JECFA-evaluated, and labelling rules permit them to be declared by category ("natural", "nature identical", "artificial") rather than by individual compound — so the specific substances used are usually not disclosed. That means someone avoiding artificial flavourings, or with a known sensitivity, cannot verify what is in it. Noted as a moderate, transparency-level concern rather than a hazard.
Ingredient Concerns safety database
Sources cited below may be Indian (FSSAI) or international (EU, US, WHO, IARC) — an international classification or law is evidence, not an Indian regulatory finding.
Hydrogenated Vegetable Fat
A vegetable oil hardened by hydrogenation — including vanaspati / dalda. Labelled without "partially", it is in practice fully hydrogenated, and post-FSSAI-2021 vanaspati is reformulated to meet the 2% industrial-trans-fat cap — so it is treated as the modern, trans-FREE form rather than a trans-fat source, but it is high in saturated fat, which raises LDL cholesterol and cardiovascular risk with regular high consumption. If an oil is explicitly PARTIALLY hydrogenated it does carry industrial trans fat; either way, the product's declared trans-fat figure on the nutrition panel is the definitive check.
Regulatory & scientific authority Source: WHO; FSSAI Trans Fatty Acids Regulation 2021; EFSA
Hydrogenated Vegetable Fat: regulation, sources and other products →Sodium Carbonate (E500)
Used as a leavening agent and acidity regulator. Contributes to total dietary sodium. Individuals on sodium-restricted diets (hypertension, kidney disease, heart failure) should account for sodium from all food additive sources, not just table salt.
Regulatory & scientific authority Source: FSSAI INS 500
Sodium Carbonate: regulation, sources and other products →Wheat Flour
Wheat and wheat-derived ingredients contain gluten, which triggers an autoimmune response in people with celiac disease, causing intestinal damage. People with non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS) or wheat allergy must also avoid this ingredient. Labelled as a major allergen by FSSAI.
Regulatory & scientific authority Source: FSSAI Food Labelling Regulations; Celiac Disease Foundation
Wheat Flour: regulation, sources and other products →Decode Label Analysis
Fully Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil is a source of high saturated fat, which can contribute to increased LDL cholesterol and cardiovascular risk.
Caramel colour can be classified into different types (I, II, III, IV). Some types (III and IV) are associated with the formation of 4-methylimidazole (4-MeI), a possible human carcinogen (IARC Group 2B).
Wheat Flour contains gluten, which is a declarable allergen (FSSAI Labelling & Display Regulations 2020) and not suitable for individuals with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.
Sodium Carbonates and Salt contribute to the overall sodium load in the diet. High sodium intake is linked to high blood pressure.
Claim check
Front-of-pack marketing claims checked against this product's actual ingredients and nutrition. "Can't verify" means the label does not provide enough information to check the claim — it is not the same as the claim being false.
The ingredients list chocolate flavour cream, cocoa powder, and cocoa mass, which are chocolate-related ingredients.
Read straight from the back-of-pack photo — quantities, sections and any disguised terms, so the small print can’t hide behind the marketing.
21 entries as printed on the label · 19 distinct ingredients (some are declared more than once).
-
1.
Chocolate Flavour Cream 60%
-
2.
Fully Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil
-
3.
Palm Kernel Oil
-
4.
Sugar listed twice
-
5.
Whole Milk Powder
-
6.
Cocoa Powder
-
7.
Cocoa Mass
-
8.
Emulsifier (Soy Lecithin)Lecithin (INS 322)Emulsifier (E322 Soy)
-
9.
Vanilla Flavour listed twiceFlavour (Vanilla)
-
10.
Wheat Flour 19%
-
11.
Corn Starch 6%
-
12.
Shortening 5%
-
13.
Sugar 4% listed twice
-
14.
Invert Sugar 1% trace amount
-
15.
Calcium Carbonate 1% trace amount
-
16.
Raising Agent (Sodium Carbonates)Sodium carbonates (INS 500), Ammonium carbonates (INS 503)Raising Agent (E500, E503)
-
17.
Salt
-
18.
Colour (Caramel) synthetic colourPlain caramel (INS 150A)Colour (E150a)
-
19.
Cacao FlavourFlavouring (Cacao, Milk, Vanilla)
-
20.
Milk FlavourFlavouring (Cacao, Milk, Vanilla)
-
21.
Vanilla Flavour listed twiceFlavouring (Cacao, Milk, Vanilla)
Trace amounts: some named ingredients appear in token quantities or low in the list. At these concentrations a meaningful benefit is unlikely, and their front-of-pack prominence may not reflect their level in the formulation.
Listed twice: an ingredient appears more than once in the same part of the list. This may indicate two separate ingredient blends in the formulation, or a duplication in how the label was recorded.
In label order — normally largest quantity first. Select a row for the full write-up and sources.
These are major food allergens named on the ingredient list. They are a risk only to people allergic to them — not a general-population safety issue — so they do not lower the safety score. Anyone with the allergy should avoid this product, and check the pack’s own allergen statement.
✓ Decode Label Assessment: Favorable ⚠ Decode Label Assessment: Concern Decode Label Assessment: Neutral
Who should take caution
About this ingredient
No detailed safety data in our database yet for this ingredient.
Learn More
| Energy | 181 kcal |
| Protein | 2.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 23 g |
| Total Sugars | 14 g |
| Added Sugars | 13 g |
| Total Fat | 8.5 g |
| Saturated Fat | 6.7 g |
| Trans Fat | 0 g |
| Dietary Fibre | 0 g |
| Sodium | 84 mg |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg |
Colour shows the per-100g level (green = low, amber = moderate, red = high), calculated from the declared serving — this label prints per-serving figures only.
Compare with other chocolate candy products
Assessed using the same Decode Label methodology, sorted by score. Each score reflects the information available for that product at the time of assessment.
Also on this shelf
More Chocolate & Candy products we've analysed, in name order.
-
KitKat KitKat Delights Dark Minis
See the analysis
-
KitKat KitKat Minis
See the analysis
-
KitKat KitKat Share & Snap
See the analysis
-
Kyomi Kyomi Blueberry Yogurt Creme Wafers & Chocolate Wafer Cubes Combo
See the analysis
-
Lindor Lindor Assorted
See the analysis
-
Loacker Loacker Quadratini Double Choc 125Gram - Italy - Chocolate
See the analysis
What are the ingredients in Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits?
The label of Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits lists 19 ingredients, in label order: Chocolate Flavour Cream, Fully Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Palm Kernel Oil, Whole Milk Powder, Cocoa powder, Cocoa Mass, Emulsifier (Soy Lecithin), Wheat Flour, Corn Starch, Shortening, Sugar, Invert Sugar, Calcium Carbonate, Raising Agent (Sodium Carbonates), Salt, Colour (Caramel), Cacao Flavour, Milk Flavour, Vanilla Flavour. Flagged by the analysis: Fully Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Palm Kernel Oil, Shortening, Chocolate Flavour Cream, Cacao Flavour and 1 more.
Is Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits safe to eat?
Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits scores 1.5/10 on Decode Label (Concerning). This chocolate candy is high in saturated fat from hydrogenated palm kernel oil and contains a significant amount of added sugar, making it a concern most relevant to regular consumption. It also contains wheat flour, so it is not suitable for individuals with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease. The product is highly processed with multiple additives.
Why does Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits score 1.5/10?
Flagged in the score: Very high saturated fat content from fully hydrogenated palm kernel oil and palm kernel oil. Also noted: High added sugar content from sugar and invert sugar. Contains caramel colour, which may contain 4-MeI, a possible carcinogen (IARC Group 2B).
Who should avoid Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits?
The points the analysis notes are most relevant to: Heart conditions; Diabetes; Celiac disease; Gluten sensitivity; Weight management concerns.
Is Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits suitable for babies or young children?
Infants under 1: Avoid. Toddlers & young children (1–5): Limit.
Does Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits contain allergens?
Yes — the ingredient list contains milk (Chocolate Flavour Cream, Whole Milk Powder and Milk Flavour), soy (Emulsifier (Soy Lecithin)) and gluten (Wheat Flour). Check the allergen statement on the pack too if you have a diagnosed allergy.
Does Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits contain milk?
Yes — the ingredient list names Chocolate Flavour Cream, Whole Milk Powder and Milk Flavour. People with milk allergy / lactose intolerance should treat it as containing milk, and check the allergen statement on the pack too.
Does Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits contain soy?
Yes — the ingredient list names Emulsifier (Soy Lecithin). People with soy allergy should treat it as containing soy, and check the allergen statement on the pack too.
Does Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits contain gluten?
Yes — the ingredient list names Wheat Flour. People with gluten / wheat sensitivity (coeliac disease) should treat it as containing gluten, and check the allergen statement on the pack too.
Is Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits high in sugar?
Yes — 37.8 g of total sugar per 100 g, above the 22.5 g per 100 g that UK front-of-pack labelling marks as high. The label declares 35.1 g of that as added sugar per 100 g.
Are the claims on the Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits pack accurate?
Yes — all 1 claim on the pack checked out against the ingredient list and nutrition panel.
Is Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits vegetarian?
Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits is marked vegetarian.
Answers are generated from this product's own Decode Label analysis — the score, the ingredient list and the label claims shown above. Always check the pack itself for allergen and dietary information.
Reader reviews
How the product performed for people who used it — taste, value, everyday experience. Separate from the Decode Label score above, which rates what is on the label.
Sign in to leave a review.
Sign in →No reviews yet — be the first to share your experience.
Help us keep this accurate
Two quick questions about our analysis — not about the product.
Was this analysis helpful?
Tells us whether the breakdown above actually answered your question.
0 of 0 readers found this analysis helpful
Does your pack match this page?
Recipes change and packs get reformulated. If the ingredients or the panel on the pack in your hand differ from what we show, tell us and we will check it.
About this analysis: Based on declared label information and available evidence. Decode Label does not independently laboratory-test products, and a score is not a regulatory determination or medical advice.
Disclaimer: Safety scores are Decode Label-generated assessments based on publicly available regulatory data (FSSAI, WHO, EFSA, IARC) and peer-reviewed research. They are not a substitute for professional medical advice, and they are not a regulatory determination, a laboratory safety certification or a medical diagnosis. Ingredient safety can vary by individual health conditions, concentration, and usage context. Decode Label is an independent information service and scores every brand by the same rules. No brand pays for or influences its score. Our founder also founded the personal-care brand Botani Bestie (see our story); its products are scored exactly like everyone else's. Data limitations: This assessment is based on the information declared on the product label and the evidence sources above — Decode Label does not independently laboratory-test this product. Ingredient concentrations, sourcing and manufacturing can vary between batches and are not always disclosed. A finding that is not shown here means it was not identified from the available label information, not that it has been ruled out.
Report Error
If you believe this score is inaccurate, provide details below. Our team reviews every report and will update the rating if warranted.
Report submitted
Our team will review your report and update the rating if the evidence warrants it. Thank you for helping keep our data accurate.
Share this product
Koala's March Chocolate Biscuits
Link copied — paste it in your Instagram bio or Story!