BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate — product pack

Pack image shown to identify the product. Decode Label is independent of BakeMate and is not sponsored or endorsed by it. Trademarks

Compare
BakeMate

Brand founded in India, 1983 · about the brand

BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate

Veg Jain food
3.0 Concerning

Decode Label Safety Score

Nutrition · 40% 0.0/10
Ingredient safety · 30% 10.0/10
Processing · 20% 2.0/10
Marketing · 10% 5.3/10
How we got 3.0 Show
Weighted score 3.9/10
Score limited by a dominant nutrition concern. 3.0
Also flagged
Very high saturated fat Sweetener, flavour not disclosed — 2 additive classes are named without saying which substances they are
Final score 3.0/10 · Concerning

Reviewed 3 times · Methodology v3.1 (updated 8 Oct 2026) — what changed

This chocolate candy offers a high protein content, but its nutritional profile is significantly impacted by very high saturated fat from multiple sources, including hydrogenated coconut oil. The use of maltitol as a sweetener may cause digestive discomfort for some individuals. While suitable for healthy adults in moderation, individuals sensitive to sugar alcohols or seeking to limit saturated fat should exercise caution.

High saturated fat and undisclosed additives in this protein candy

This protein-rich chocolate candy contains a high amount of saturated fat, primarily from palm kernel stearine and hydrogenated coconut oil. It uses maltitol as a sweetener, which can have a laxative effect if consumed in large quantities. Several additives, including emulsifiers and flavour, are not specifically identified, raising transparency concerns.

Okay for: Healthy adults in moderation

Declared allergens: Tree nuts, Milk, Soy and Gluten

Tree nuts· Hazelnuts Butter Milk· Milk Solids, Milk Protein Soy· Soya Protein Isolate Gluten· Whole Wheat Flour

People with these allergies should avoid it and check the pack’s own allergen statement.

Based on the declared ingredient list. This is a risk only to people with the allergy, not a general-population safety issue, so it does not lower the safety score.

Concern breakdown What drives the score, concern by concern · score out of 10, higher = fewer concerns

Concern breakdown

Score out of 10 · higher = fewer concerns

How this product performs on each concern we check for food. This is a breakdown of the same evidence behind the score above — not a separate verdict.

Overall Nutritional Value Major concern · 0.0/10
Unhealthy Fats (Trans & Saturated) Significant concern · 2.0/10

Saturated fat 23.9 g · trans fat 0.2 g per 100 g/ml

Preservatives & Additives Significant concern · 2.5/10
Ultra-Processing & Refined Carbs Significant concern · 3.0/10
Added & Hidden Sugar Minor concern · 7.5/10
Artificial Colours & Dyes No concern identified · 8.0/10
Flavour Enhancers & MSG No concern identified · 8.0/10
Artificial Sweeteners No concern identified · 8.0/10
Protein & Fibre Content No concern identified · 8.5/10
Excess Sodium & Salt No concern identified · 10.0/10

Toddlers & young children (1–5)

Limit
Toddlers & young children

Contains Maltitol, a sugar alcohol, which can have a laxative effect if consumed in large quantities by young children.

Why the score is capped

Very high saturated fat

Rule F-CAP-08

Sweetener, flavour not disclosed — 2 additive classes are named without saying which substances they are

Rule F-CAP-13

What's good

High protein content from multiple milk and soy protein sources

Contains hazelnuts butter for healthy fats and nutrients

Includes polydextrose as a source of dietary fiber

Watch out for

Very high saturated fat content from palm kernel stearine and hydrogenated coconut oil

Maltitol may cause digestive issues in sensitive individuals or when consumed in large amounts

Lack of specific disclosure for several additives (sweetener, natural flavour)

Contains common allergens: milk, wheat (gluten), hazelnuts, and soy

Dough Conditioner — named on the label with its additive code.

Ingredient Concerns safety database

Sources cited below may be Indian (FSSAI) or international (EU, US, WHO, IARC) — an international classification or law is evidence, not an Indian regulatory finding.

Sodium Carbonate (E500)

Used as a leavening agent and acidity regulator. Contributes to total dietary sodium. Individuals on sodium-restricted diets (hypertension, kidney disease, heart failure) should account for sodium from all food additive sources, not just table salt.

Regulatory & scientific authority Source: FSSAI INS 500

Sodium Carbonate: regulation, sources and other products →

Wheat Flour

Wheat and wheat-derived ingredients contain gluten, which triggers an autoimmune response in people with celiac disease, causing intestinal damage. People with non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS) or wheat allergy must also avoid this ingredient. Labelled as a major allergen by FSSAI.

Regulatory & scientific authority Source: FSSAI Food Labelling Regulations; Celiac Disease Foundation

Wheat Flour: regulation, sources and other products →

Decode Label Analysis

Contains Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, which is very high in saturated fat. While the nutrition panel indicates 0g trans fat, high saturated fat intake is linked to increased risk of heart disease.

Maltitol is a sugar alcohol that can cause gastrointestinal discomfort, including bloating, gas, and a laxative effect, especially in larger quantities. Individuals sensitive to sugar alcohols should consume with caution.

This lack of specific ingredient identification reduces transparency for consumers with specific dietary concerns or sensitivities.

Contains Whole Wheat Flour, which includes gluten. Not suitable for individuals with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

Claim check

2 claims not supported by label data

Front-of-pack marketing claims checked against this product's actual ingredients and nutrition. "Can't verify" means the label does not provide enough information to check the claim — it is not the same as the claim being false.

!
"Protein Packed Choco Wafer" Not supported by label data

Protein provides only 19.9% of energy — enough for a “source of protein” (10%) but below the 20% a “high protein” claim requires. (Judged on % of energy, not % by weight.)

Protein 22 g Energy 443 kcal 19.9% of energy from protein
!
"High Protein" Not supported by label data

Protein provides only 19.9% of energy — enough for a “source of protein” (10%) but below the 20% a “high protein” claim requires. (Judged on % of energy, not % by weight.)

Protein 22 g Energy 443 kcal 19.9% of energy from protein
?
"140 Calories" Can't verify

The label states 443 kcal per 100g. For a 40g serving, this would be 177.2 kcal. The claim of '140 Calories' per serving cannot be verified with the provided nutrition information.

energy kcal 443 (per 100g) serving size: 40g
✓
"BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate" Checks out

The product name includes 'Chocolate', and the ingredients list cocoa mass and fat reduced cocoa powder, confirming the chocolate flavor.

COCOA MASS [4.9%] FAT REDUCED COCOA POWDER [0.7%]
✓
"No Added Sugar" Checks out

The label declares 0 g added sugar; the 7 g of sugar shown is naturally occurring from milk and grains. The "no added sugar" claim is supported by the label.

added sugar g 0 (per 100g)

Read straight from the back-of-pack photo — quantities, sections and any disguised terms, so the small print can’t hide behind the marketing.

  • 1.
    Edible Vegetable Fat
    EDIBLE VEGETABLE FAT
  • Palm Kernel Stearine within Edible Vegetable Fat
    PALM KERNEL STEARINE
  • Hydrogenated Coconut Oil within Edible Vegetable Fat
    HYDROGENATED COCONUT OIL
  • 2.
    Milk Solids 15.2%
    MILK SOLIDS [15.2%]
  • 3.
    Milk Protein
    MILK PROTEIN
  • Calcium Caseinate within Milk Protein
    CALCIUM CASEINATE
  • Milk Protein Concentrate within Milk Protein
    MILK PROTEIN CONCENTRATE
  • Whey Protein Isolate within Milk Protein
    WHEY PROTEIN ISOLATE
  • 4.
    Sweetener
    SWEETENER
  • Maltitol within Sweetener
    MALTITOL
  • 5.
    Whole Wheat Flour
    WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR
  • 6.
    Hazelnuts Butter 5%
    HAZELNUTS BUTTER [5%]
  • 7.
    Cocoa Mass 4.9%
    COCOA MASS [4.9%]
  • 8.
    Soya Protein Isolate
    SOYA PROTEIN ISOLATE
  • 9.
    Polydextrose
    POLY DEXTROSE
  • 10.
    Fat Reduced Cocoa Powder 0.7% trace amount
    FAT REDUCED COCOA POWDER [0.7%]
  • 11.
    Edible Starch
    EDIBLE STARCH
  • 12.
    Emulsifiers
    Lecithin (INS 322), PGPR (polyglycerol polyricinoleate) (INS 476)
    EMULSIFIERS [E322 (i) & E476]
  • 13.
    Salt
    SALT
  • 14.
    Leavening Agent 500 (ii)
    Sodium carbonates (INS 500)
    LEAVENING AGENT 500 (ii)
  • 15.
    Flour Improver unnamed
    FLOUR IMPROVER [1101(i)]
  • 16.
    Dough Conditioner
    Sodium metabisulphite (INS 223)
    DOUGH CONDITIONER (223)
  • 17.
    Natural Flavour
    NATURAL FLAVOUR [HAZELNUT]

Trace amounts: some named ingredients appear in token quantities or low in the list. At these concentrations a meaningful benefit is unlikely, and their front-of-pack prominence may not reflect their level in the formulation.

In label order — normally largest quantity first. Select a row for the full write-up and sources.

These are major food allergens named on the ingredient list. They are a risk only to people allergic to them — not a general-population safety issue — so they do not lower the safety score. Anyone with the allergy should avoid this product, and check the pack’s own allergen statement.

Tree nuts Allergen on the label: Hazelnuts Butter
Allergen
Milk Allergen on the label: Milk Solids, Milk Protein, Calcium Caseinate
Allergen
Soy Allergen on the label: Soya Protein Isolate
Allergen
Gluten Allergen on the label: Whole Wheat Flour
Allergen

The label declares each of these as a blend and then lists what is in it. The components appear in the groups above on their own merits, so the blend itself is shown here rather than counted a second time.

High in fat High in saturated fat Trace trans fat
Nutrition (per 100 g) Serving: 40g
Energy 443 kcal
Protein 22 g
Carbohydrate 17.3 g
Total Sugars 7 g
Added Sugars 0 g
Total Fat 30.7 g
Saturated Fat 23.9 g
Trans Fat 0.16 g
Sodium 104 mg
CHOLESTEROL 9.3 mg

Colour shows the per-100g level (green = low, amber = moderate, red = high), from the product's label.

Compare with other chocolate candy products

Assessed using the same Decode Label methodology, sorted by score. Each score reflects the information available for that product at the time of assessment.

View all →

What are the ingredients in BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate?

The label of BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate lists 23 ingredients, in label order: Edible Vegetable Fat, Palm Kernel Stearine, Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, Milk Solids, Milk Protein, Calcium Caseinate, Milk Protein Concentrate, Whey Protein Isolate, Sweetener, Maltitol, Whole Wheat Flour, Hazelnuts Butter, Cocoa Mass, Soya Protein Isolate, Polydextrose, Fat Reduced Cocoa Powder, Edible Starch, Emulsifiers, Salt, Leavening Agent 500 (ii), Flour Improver, Dough Conditioner, Natural flavour. Flagged by the analysis: Palm Kernel Stearine, Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, Dough Conditioner, Maltitol, Flour Improver.

Is BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate safe to eat?

BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate scores 3.0/10 on Decode Label (Concerning). This protein-rich chocolate candy contains a high amount of saturated fat, primarily from palm kernel stearine and hydrogenated coconut oil. It uses maltitol as a sweetener, which can have a laxative effect if consumed in large quantities. Several additives, including emulsifiers and flavour, are not specifically identified, raising transparency concerns.

Why does BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate score 3.0/10?

Flagged in the score: Very high saturated fat content from palm kernel stearine and hydrogenated coconut oil. Maltitol may cause digestive issues in sensitive individuals or when consumed in large amounts. Also noted: Lack of specific disclosure for several additives (sweetener, natural flavour).

Who should avoid BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate?

The points the analysis notes are most relevant to: Individuals sensitive to sugar alcohols; Those limiting saturated fat intake; People with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease; Tree-nut allergy; Milk allergy / lactose intolerance.

Is BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate suitable for babies or young children?

Toddlers & young children (1–5): Limit.

Does BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate contain allergens?

Yes — the ingredient list contains tree nuts (Hazelnuts Butter), milk (Milk Solids, Milk Protein, Calcium Caseinate and Milk Protein Concentrate), soy (Soya Protein Isolate) and gluten (Whole Wheat Flour). Check the allergen statement on the pack too if you have a diagnosed allergy.

Does BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate contain tree nuts?

Yes — the ingredient list names Hazelnuts Butter. People with tree-nut allergy should treat it as containing tree nuts, and check the allergen statement on the pack too.

Does BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate contain milk?

Yes — the ingredient list names Milk Solids, Milk Protein, Calcium Caseinate and Milk Protein Concentrate. People with milk allergy / lactose intolerance should treat it as containing milk, and check the allergen statement on the pack too.

Does BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate contain soy?

Yes — the ingredient list names Soya Protein Isolate. People with soy allergy should treat it as containing soy, and check the allergen statement on the pack too.

Does BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate contain gluten?

Yes — the ingredient list names Whole Wheat Flour. People with gluten / wheat sensitivity (coeliac disease) should treat it as containing gluten, and check the allergen statement on the pack too.

How much sugar is in BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate?

7 g of total sugar per 100 g. The label declares 0 g of that as added sugar per 100 g.

Are the claims on the BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate pack accurate?

Decode Label checked 5 claims against the ingredient list and nutrition panel. "Protein Packed Choco Wafer" — misleading. "High Protein" — misleading. "140 Calories" — can't be verified from the label.

Is BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate vegetarian?

BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate is marked vegetarian.

Answers are generated from this product's own Decode Label analysis — the score, the ingredient list and the label claims shown above. Always check the pack itself for allergen and dietary information.

Reader reviews

How the product performed for people who used it — taste, value, everyday experience. Separate from the Decode Label score above, which rates what is on the label.

Sign in to leave a review.

Sign in →

No reviews yet — be the first to share your experience.

Help us keep this accurate

Two quick questions about our analysis — not about the product.

Was this analysis helpful?

Tells us whether the breakdown above actually answered your question.

Yes No

0 of 0 readers found this analysis helpful

Does your pack match this page?

Recipes change and packs get reformulated. If the ingredients or the panel on the pack in your hand differ from what we show, tell us and we will check it.

It matches Something is different

About this analysis: Based on declared label information and available evidence. Decode Label does not independently laboratory-test products, and a score is not a regulatory determination or medical advice.

Disclaimer: Safety scores are Decode Label-generated assessments based on publicly available regulatory data (FSSAI, WHO, EFSA, IARC) and peer-reviewed research. They are not a substitute for professional medical advice, and they are not a regulatory determination, a laboratory safety certification or a medical diagnosis. Ingredient safety can vary by individual health conditions, concentration, and usage context. Decode Label is an independent information service and scores every brand by the same rules. No brand pays for or influences its score. Our founder also founded the personal-care brand Botani Bestie (see our story); its products are scored exactly like everyone else's. Data limitations: This assessment is based on the information declared on the product label and the evidence sources above — Decode Label does not independently laboratory-test this product. Ingredient concentrations, sourcing and manufacturing can vary between batches and are not always disclosed. A finding that is not shown here means it was not identified from the available label information, not that it has been ruled out.

Report Error

If you believe this score is inaccurate, provide details below. Our team reviews every report and will update the rating if warranted.

Report submitted

Our team will review your report and update the rating if the evidence warrants it. Thank you for helping keep our data accurate.

Share this product

BAKEMATE Power Crunch Chocolate

Link copied — paste it in your Instagram bio or Story!