Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% vs Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder
Decode Label-scored on the concerns that matter for Supplement — the facts from each label, side by side. We decode, you decide.
Pack images are shown to identify the products. Decode Label is independent of Optimum Nutrition and is not sponsored or endorsed by it. Trademarks
What's different
- •Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% has 2.5× as much sodium as Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder (419 mg vs 164 mg per 100 g/ml).
- •Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% has about 61% more saturated fat than Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder (3.2 g vs 2 g per 100 g/ml).
- •Only Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% lists the flagged ingredient Acesulfame Potassium.
- •Only Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder lists the flagged ingredient Sweetener.
- •Only Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% lists the allergen Soy.
- •1 claim on the Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% pack did not hold up against its own label.
Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100%
Not ahead on any concern we check.
Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder
Fewer concerns on: Artificial Sweeteners, Fillers & Additive Burden
Scores: Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% has the higher Decode Label score (6.0 vs 5.5). Which difference matters most depends on who is eating or using it — that's your call.
A higher score means fewer or lighter concerns found under Decode Label's published rules. It is not a medical "safe", and a lower score does not establish that a product is unsafe.
Safety Score
Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% is a solid protein choice with a clear disclosure of its artificial sweetener.
Safety Score
Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder offers slightly higher protein and lower sodium, but with less specific additive disclosure.
Side by side
What each label says. Nutrition is per 100 g (or ml) so pack and serving sizes don't skew it.
Check the pack for "may contain" warnings if you have an allergy.
Brands choose their own serving sizes, so compare the per-100 figures above.
What these labels can't tell us
- How much of each ingredient is in the product — labels list order, not amounts.
- Cross-contact on the factory line beyond any "may contain" warning, and batch-to-batch variation.
- Anything a laboratory test would find — Decode Label reads labels; it does not test products.
Concern match
A separate lens from the overall Safety Score above — how well each product suits a specific concern, not an overall verdict. Each concern is scored 0–10: higher means less of that concern (5 ≈ neutral).
What matters most to you?
…or what you want it to do — read from the ingredients, not scored by the engine
For , scores higher ( vs ). This is only a per-concern fit lens — it doesn't change the overall safety score, where still has the higher score.
For , the two are evenly matched. The overall safety verdict is unchanged.
This one is read from the two ingredient lists rather than measured by the Decode Label engine — useful for choosing, but it is not a safety finding.
Both Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% and Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder do not list specific added vitamins or minerals that would contribute to a risk of overdose.
Both Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% and Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder have comparable low sugar content per 100g, with no added sugars explicitly listed beyond what might be inherent in the cocoa powder.
Both Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% and Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder contain sodium, but at levels that are not considered excessive for a protein supplement.
Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder scores higher as it generally lists 'Sweetener' without specifying the type, while Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% explicitly lists Acesulfame Potassium, a known artificial sweetener.
Neither Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% nor Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder list any stimulant ingredients.
Neither Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% nor Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder list ingredients commonly associated with banned substances or adulterants.
Both Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% and Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder use a 'Protein blend' as their primary ingredient, which is a proprietary blend, but the specific protein types are disclosed.
Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder scores higher due to its more general listing of 'Emulsifier, INS 322(i)' and 'Sweetener', which implies fewer explicitly named additives compared to Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100%'s 'Sunflower and/or Soy Lecithin' and 'Acesulfame Potassium'.
Neither Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% nor Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder list any artificial colors or dyes.
Declared ingredients linked to common health & supplements goals
Ingredient read — not a safety scoreRead from the two ingredient lists rather than measured by the Decode Label engine, so these sit apart from the scores above and do not change the verdict. 5 means neutral — no ingredient that helps or hinders. Not a health or medical claim — and the ingredient list alone does not establish that the finished product delivers the benefit.
Active Potency & Dosage
Stronger ingredient match: Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder +0.5Both products provide a high protein content, with Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% offering slightly more protein per 100g (78.95g) compared to Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% (77.42g).
Bioavailability & Absorption
EvenBoth products contain a blend of Whey Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Concentrate, and Hydrolyzed Whey Protein, which are generally well-regarded for their bioavailability and absorption rates.
Protein Quality & Amino Profile
EvenBoth products utilize a blend of whey proteins (isolate, concentrate, hydrolyzed), which are complete proteins known for their excellent amino acid profiles.
Added Sugar & Sweeteners
Stronger ingredient match: Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder +1.0Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% has a slightly lower sugar content (2.96g per 100g) and a less specific 'Sweetener' listing compared to Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100%'s explicit 'Acesulfame Potassium' and slightly higher sugar (3.23g per 100g).
Fillers, Binders & Artificial Additives
Stronger ingredient match: Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder +1.0Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% lists 'Emulsifier, INS 322(i)' and 'Artificial Flavours', while Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% lists 'Sunflower and/or Soy Lecithin' and 'Natural and Artificial Flavor', with the latter having a more detailed disclosure of its emulsifier.
Proprietary Blends & Label Transparency
Stronger ingredient match: Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% +0.5Both products use a 'Protein blend' as their primary ingredient, which is a proprietary blend. Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% is slightly less transparent by listing 'Sweetener' and 'Emulsifier, INS 322(i)' without further detail, compared to Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100%'s specific 'Acesulfame Potassium' and 'Sunflower and/or Soy Lecithin'.
Digestive Tolerance & Bloating
EvenBoth products contain whey protein isolates and hydrolyzed whey protein, which are generally well-tolerated and may contribute to less bloating for some individuals compared to higher lactose forms of whey.
Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100%
In its favour, from the label
- High protein content (77.42g per 100g)
- Low sugar content (3.23g per 100g)
- Clear disclosure of specific artificial sweetener (Acesulfame Potassium)
Label findings to note
- Contains an intense artificial sweetener (acesulfame). Sweeteners are judged by name, and a protein powder is not exempt
- Higher sodium content compared to Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder (419.35mg per 100g)
Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder
In its favour, from the label
- Slightly higher protein content (78.95g per 100g)
- Lower sugar content (2.96g per 100g)
- Lower sodium content (164.47mg per 100g)
- No trans fat listed
Label findings to note
- Emulsifier not disclosed — the label does not say which substance this is
- Contains an intense artificial sweetener (named by INS code). Sweeteners are judged by name, and a protein powder is not exempt
- Emulsifier, sweetener not disclosed — 2 additive classes are named without saying which substances they are
- Less specific disclosure of 'Emulsifier, INS 322(i)' and 'Sweetener'
- Contains artificial flavors
Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% vs Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder — frequently asked questions
They are about the same. Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% has 3.2 g and Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder has 3 g of total sugar per 100 g/ml.
They are about the same. Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% has 77.4 g and Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder has 78.9 g of protein per 100 g/ml.
Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder has less per 100 g/ml. Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% has 419 mg and Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder has 164 mg of sodium per 100 g/ml.
Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder has less per 100 g/ml. Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% has 3.2 g and Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder has 2 g of saturated fat per 100 g/ml.
Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100%'s ingredient list includes Milk and Soy. Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder's ingredient list includes Milk. Check each pack for "may contain" warnings if you have an allergy.
Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100% lists Acesulfame Potassium. Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder lists Sweetener.
Related comparisons
Other side-by-sides you may want next.
-
Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100%
vs
Optimum Nutrition (ON) Serious Mass
-
Optimum Nutrition (ON) Gold Standard 100%
vs
OZiva Protein & Herbs for Women (Chocolate)
-
Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder
vs
Optimum Nutrition (ON) Serious Mass
-
Optimum Nutrition (ON) RCB Limited Edition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder
vs
OZiva Protein & Herbs for Women (Chocolate)
-
Optimum Nutrition (ON) Serious Mass
vs
OZiva Protein & Herbs for Women (Chocolate)
Comparison generated by Decode Label from each product's listed ingredients. Every score and flagged finding comes from Decode Label's rules engine; the explanations and the ingredient read are written with AI and cannot change a score. Always read the actual label.