Pack image shown to identify the product. Decode Label is independent of Patanjali and is not sponsored or endorsed by it. Trademarks
Brand founded in India, 2006 · about the brand
Kesh Kanti Alovera Hair Cleanser
Decode Label Safety Score
How we got 5.0 ShowHide
Reviewed 4 times · Methodology v3.1 (updated 8 Oct 2026) — what changed
This shampoo offers some beneficial ingredients like Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice and conditioning proteins, but its formulation is primarily driven by a harsh surfactant, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, which can be irritating for sensitive scalps. The presence of an undisclosed 'Fragrance' blend also raises concerns for individuals with fragrance allergies or sensitive skin, as specific allergens are not listed. While many botanical extracts are included, their trace amounts mean they are not counted as a formulation strength. It's a rinse-off product, so exposure is brief, but those with scalp sensitivity should exercise caution.
At a glance
From the declared label — not a lab testFindings to weigh
What’s favorable
- Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice
- Cocamidopropyl Betaine
- Glycerin
- Vitamin B5
- Betaine
- +3 more →
Harsh surfactant and undisclosed fragrance raise concerns for sensitive scalps.
This shampoo contains Sodium Laureth Sulfate, a surfactant known to cause irritation for some users, especially those with sensitive skin or scalp conditions. It also includes an undisclosed 'Fragrance' blend, which is a common source of allergens and can trigger reactions in sensitive individuals. While it features several botanical extracts, most are not counted as a formulation strength.
Concern breakdown
Score out of 10 · higher = fewer concernsHow this product performs on each concern we check for haircare. This is a breakdown of the same evidence behind the score above — not a separate verdict.
Triggered by CI 42090, CI 19140 — a synthetic colour on our aromatic-amine watch list (impurity risk). A colour-quality caution, not a finding that this product contains a carcinogen.
Why the score is capped
Primary surfactant with recognised irritation potential (EU SCCS)
Rule PC-CAP-05
Undisclosed fragrance (allergens not named)
Rule PC-CAP-06
What's good
Contains Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, known for soothing and hydrating properties, in a meaningful amount.
Includes conditioning ingredients like Glycerin, Vitamin B5, Betaine, Polyquaternium-10, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, and Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein to help moisturize and strengthen hair.
Cocamidopropyl Betaine helps to mitigate the harshness of the primary surfactant.
Watch out for
The presence of Sodium Laureth Sulfate as a primary cleansing agent may cause irritation or dryness for individuals with sensitive scalps or skin.
The undisclosed 'Fragrance' blend is a significant concern for those with fragrance allergies or sensitive skin, as potential allergens are not specified.
Many botanical extracts are present in trace amounts, making significant benefits from them unlikely.
Contains Cocamide MEA, which can be an irritant and sensitizer.
CI 42090 — a synthetic colour (Colour Index dye) added purely for appearance — it gives the product no benefit for skin or health. Permitted at regulated levels, but synthetic dyes of this class are a recognised contact-irritant and sensitiser risk for some people, so they are noted as a moderate, subgroup-level concern rather than a general-population hazard.
CI 19140 — a synthetic colour (Colour Index dye) added purely for appearance — it gives the product no benefit for skin or health. Permitted at regulated levels, but synthetic dyes of this class are a recognised contact-irritant and sensitiser risk for some people, so they are noted as a moderate, subgroup-level concern rather than a general-population hazard.
Ingredient Concerns safety database
Sources cited below may be Indian (FSSAI) or international (EU, US, WHO, IARC) — an international classification or law is evidence, not an Indian regulatory finding.
Sodium Laureth Sulfate
SLES is a cleansing agent that is milder than SLS but can still irritate very sensitive or compromised skin. Separately, because it is made by ethoxylation, it may carry a residue of 1,4-dioxane, which IARC classifies as possibly carcinogenic to humans (Group 2B). The ingredient list cannot show whether any is present or how much. The EU SCCS considers 1,4-dioxane at or below 10 ppm in a finished cosmetic to be safe, and manufacturers reduce it by vacuum stripping.
Regulatory & scientific authority Source: FDA; EU SCCS
Sodium Laureth Sulfate: regulation, sources and other products →Fragrance
"Fragrance" or "parfum" is a catch-all term that can conceal a blend of hundreds of undisclosed chemicals, including known allergens, sensitisers, and potential endocrine disruptors. The EU now mandates disclosure of 82 specific fragrance allergens. People with fragrance sensitivity, asthma, or contact dermatitis should prefer fragrance-free products.
Regulatory & scientific authority Source: EU Regulation 2023/1545; IFRA
Fragrance: regulation, sources and other products →Decode Label Analysis
Contains Sodium Laureth Sulfate, a primary surfactant that can be irritating to skin and scalp, especially for sensitive individuals. It may also contain trace amounts of 1,4-dioxane, a potential carcinogen, as a by-product of its manufacturing process (EU SCCS).
Contains 'Fragrance' without specific disclosure of individual fragrance allergens. This is a common source of contact allergens and can cause sensitization or allergic reactions in sensitive individuals (EU Reg. 1223/2009 Art. 19 + Annex III).
Contains Cocamide MEA, which can be a skin irritant and sensitizer. There are also theoretical concerns about nitrosamine formation, though this is less common in modern formulations.
Claim check
Front-of-pack marketing claims checked against this product's actual ingredients and nutrition. "Can't verify" means the label does not provide enough information to check the claim — it is not the same as the claim being false.
The claim 'New' is a marketing statement about the product's launch status and cannot be verified from the ingredient list or nutrition facts.
The term 'Natural Nourishment' is a subjective marketing claim that cannot be objectively verified from the provided ingredient list or nutrition information.
The claim 'Lustrous Volume' describes a cosmetic effect and cannot be verified from the ingredient list or nutrition facts.
The claim 'Dermatologically Tested & Safe' refers to testing procedures and safety assessments, which cannot be verified from the ingredient list or nutrition facts.
The ingredient list includes Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, which is aloe vera.
Read straight from the back-of-pack photo — quantities, sections and any disguised terms, so the small print can’t hide behind the marketing.
-
1.
Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice 5000mg Activeघृतकुमारी (Aloe barbadensis) Lf. Juice 5000 mg
-
2.
Hibiscus Rosa-Sinensis Flower Extract 10mg Active trace amountगुड़हल (Hibiscus rosa sinensis) Fl. Ext. 10 mg
-
3.
Ocimum Sanctum Leaf Extract 10mg Active trace amountतुलसी (Ocimum sanctum) Lf. Ext. 10 mg
-
4.
Bacopa Monnieri Whole Plant Extract 10mg Active trace amountब्राह्मी (Bacopa monnieri) Wp. Ext. 10 mg
-
5.
Sapindus Trifoliatus Fruit Extract 10mg Active trace amountरीठा (Sapindus trifoliatus) Fr. Ext. 10 mg
-
6.
Emblica Officinalis Fruit Extract 10mg Active trace amountआंवला (Emblica officinalis) Fr. Ext. 10 mg
-
7.
Eclipta Alba Whole Plant Extract 10mg Active trace amountभृंगराज (Eclipta alba) Wp. Ext. 10 mg
-
8.
Lawsonia Inermis Leaf Extract 10mg Active trace amountमेहंदी (Lawsonia inermis) Lf. Ext. 10 mg
-
9.
Acacia Concinna Fruit Extract 10mg Active trace amountशिकाकाई (Acacia concinna) Fr. Ext. 10 mg
-
10.
Curcuma Longa Rhizome Extract 10mg Active trace amountहल्दी (Curcuma longa) Rz. Ext. 10 mg
-
11.
Tinospora Cordifolia Stem Extract 10mg Active trace amountगिलोय (Tinospora cordifolia) St. Ext. 10 mg
-
12.
Psoralea Corylifolia Seed Extract 10mg Active trace amountबाकुची (Psoralea corylifolia) Sd. Ext. 10 mg
-
13.
Water BaseAqua
-
14.
Sodium Laureth Sulfate BaseSodium Lauryl Ether Sulphate
-
15.
Cocamide MEA Base
-
16.
Cocamidopropyl Betaine BaseCocamidopropyl betaine
-
17.
Glycerin Base
-
18.
Vitamin B5 BaseVitamin B 5
-
19.
Betaine Base
-
20.
Polyquaternium-10 BasePolyquaternium 10
-
21.
Hydrolyzed Soy Protein BaseHydrolyzed soy protein
-
22.
Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein BaseHydrolyzed wheat protein
-
23.
Sodium Benzoate BaseSodium benzoate
-
24.
CI 42090 Base synthetic colour
-
25.
CI 19140 Base synthetic colour
-
26.
Fragrance Base undisclosed fragranceSugandhit Dravya
Trace amounts: some named ingredients appear in token quantities or low in the list. At these concentrations a meaningful benefit is unlikely, and their front-of-pack prominence may not reflect their level in the formulation.
In label order — normally largest quantity first. Select a row for the full write-up and sources.
Fragrance allergens are substances EU cosmetics rules require to be named on the label (such as Limonene and Linalool). Fragrant botanicals such as essential oils are grouped with them because they can naturally contain such substances, but they are not on that list. They matter mainly for people with fragrance allergies or already-sensitive skin — not a general-population safety issue. Each named allergen takes a small deduction from the ingredient score, and a high count can cap it; fragrant botanicals take none. Naming them on the label is a transparency positive.
✓ Decode Label Assessment: Favorable ⚠ Decode Label Assessment: Concern Decode Label Assessment: Neutral
Who should take caution
About this ingredient
No detailed safety data in our database yet for this ingredient.
Learn More
Compare with other shampoo products
Assessed using the same Decode Label methodology, sorted by score. Each score reflects the information available for that product at the time of assessment.
Also on this shelf
More Shampoo products we've analysed, in name order.
-
Head & Shoulder Head & Shoulder Anti Dandruff Shampoo Anti Hair Fall
See the analysis
-
Head & Shoulder Head & Shoulder Anti Dandruff Shampoo Cool Menthol
See the analysis
-
Head & Shoulders Head & Shoulders 2-in-1 Smooth and Silky Anti Dandruff Shampoo
See the analysis
-
Patanjali Kesh Kanti Anti Dandruff Hair Cleanser
See the analysis
-
Patanjali Kesh Kanti Milk Protein
See the analysis
-
Patanjali Kesh Kanti Reetha Hair Cleanser
See the analysis
What are the ingredients in Kesh Kanti Alovera Hair Cleanser?
The label of Kesh Kanti Alovera Hair Cleanser lists 26 ingredients, in label order: Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Hibiscus Rosa-Sinensis Flower Extract, Ocimum sanctum leaf extract, Bacopa monnieri whole plant extract, Sapindus trifoliatus fruit extract, Emblica Officinalis Fruit Extract, Eclipta alba whole plant extract, Lawsonia inermis leaf extract, Acacia concinna Fruit Extract, Curcuma longa rhizome extract, Tinospora cordifolia stem extract, Psoralea corylifolia seed extract, Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamide MEA, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycerin, Vitamin B5, Betaine, Polyquaternium-10, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Hydrolyzed wheat protein, Sodium Benzoate, CI 42090, CI 19140, Fragrance. Flagged by the analysis: Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Fragrance, Cocamide MEA, CI 42090, CI 19140.
Is Kesh Kanti Alovera Hair Cleanser safe to use?
Kesh Kanti Alovera Hair Cleanser scores 5.0/10 on Decode Label (Moderate). This shampoo contains Sodium Laureth Sulfate, a surfactant known to cause irritation for some users, especially those with sensitive skin or scalp conditions. It also includes an undisclosed 'Fragrance' blend, which is a common source of allergens and can trigger reactions in sensitive individuals. While it features several botanical extracts, most are not counted as a formulation strength.
Why does Kesh Kanti Alovera Hair Cleanser score 5.0/10?
Flagged in the score: The presence of Sodium Laureth Sulfate as a primary cleansing agent may cause irritation or dryness for individuals with sensitive scalps or skin. The undisclosed 'Fragrance' blend is a significant concern for those with fragrance allergies or sensitive skin, as potential allergens are not specified. Also noted: Many botanical extracts are present in trace amounts, making significant benefits from them unlikely.
Who should avoid Kesh Kanti Alovera Hair Cleanser?
The points the analysis notes are most relevant to: Sensitive scalp; Fragrance allergy; Contact dermatitis.
Does Kesh Kanti Alovera Hair Cleanser contain allergens?
Yes — the label lists 2 fragrant botanicals (Ocimum sanctum leaf extract and Curcuma longa rhizome extract) that can naturally contain fragrance allergens. These matter mainly if you have sensitive skin or a known fragrance allergy.
Does Kesh Kanti Alovera Hair Cleanser contain fragrance?
Yes — the ingredient list includes Fragrance. Fragrance is declared as a single ingredient, so the individual scent chemicals in it are not named. This matters mainly if you have sensitive skin or a known fragrance allergy.
Are the claims on the Kesh Kanti Alovera Hair Cleanser pack accurate?
Decode Label checked 5 claims against the ingredient list and nutrition panel. "New" — can't be verified from the label. "Natural Nourishment" — can't be verified from the label. "Lustrous Volume" — can't be verified from the label.
Answers are generated from this product's own Decode Label analysis — the score, the ingredient list and the label claims shown above. Always check the pack itself for allergen and dietary information.
Reader reviews
How the product performed for people who used it — taste, value, everyday experience. Separate from the Decode Label score above, which rates what is on the label.
Sign in to leave a review.
Sign in →No reviews yet — be the first to share your experience.
Help us keep this accurate
Two quick questions about our analysis — not about the product.
Was this analysis helpful?
Tells us whether the breakdown above actually answered your question.
0 of 0 readers found this analysis helpful
Does your pack match this page?
Recipes change and packs get reformulated. If the ingredients or the panel on the pack in your hand differ from what we show, tell us and we will check it.
About this analysis: Based on declared label information and available evidence. Decode Label does not independently laboratory-test products, and a score is not a regulatory determination or medical advice.
Disclaimer: Safety scores are Decode Label-generated assessments based on publicly available regulatory data (FSSAI, WHO, EFSA, IARC) and peer-reviewed research. They are not a substitute for professional medical advice, and they are not a regulatory determination, a laboratory safety certification or a medical diagnosis. Ingredient safety can vary by individual health conditions, concentration, and usage context. Decode Label is an independent information service and scores every brand by the same rules. No brand pays for or influences its score. Our founder also founded the personal-care brand Botani Bestie (see our story); its products are scored exactly like everyone else's. Data limitations: This assessment is based on the information declared on the product label and the evidence sources above — Decode Label does not independently laboratory-test this product. Ingredient concentrations, sourcing and manufacturing can vary between batches and are not always disclosed. A finding that is not shown here means it was not identified from the available label information, not that it has been ruled out.
Report Error
If you believe this score is inaccurate, provide details below. Our team reviews every report and will update the rating if warranted.
Report submitted
Our team will review your report and update the rating if the evidence warrants it. Thank you for helping keep our data accurate.
Share this product
Kesh Kanti Alovera Hair Cleanser
Link copied — paste it in your Instagram bio or Story!