Head-to-head
Coca-Cola — product pack 3.3 /10
VS
Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml — product pack 3.3 /10

Coca-Cola vs Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml

Decode Label-scored on the concerns that matter for Beverage — the facts from each label, side by side. We decode, you decide.

Pack images are shown to identify the products. Decode Label is independent of Coca-Cola and Thums Up and is not sponsored or endorsed by either. Trademarks

What's different

  • •Only Coca-Cola lists the flagged ingredient Acidity Regulator.
  • •Only Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml lists the flagged ingredients Acidity Regular and Flavours (Nature-Identical & Artificial (Cola), Flavoring substances.

Coca-Cola

Fewer concerns on: Artificial Flavours

Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml

Not ahead on any concern we check.

Scores: both products fall in the Concerning band, so the small gap between them doesn't make one "safer". See each product's label findings below. Which difference matters most depends on who is eating or using it — that's your call.

A higher score means fewer or lighter concerns found under Decode Label's published rules. It is not a medical "safe", and a lower score does not establish that a product is unsafe.

Coca-Cola
Veg Vegan Jain
3.3 / 10

Safety Score

Coca-Cola is a carbonated soft drink with sugar, caffeine, and undisclosed flavors, scoring higher on artificial flavors due to less specific labeling.

VS
Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml
Veg Vegan Jain
3.3 / 10

Safety Score

Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml is a carbonated soft drink with sugar, caffeine, and explicitly listed nature-identical and artificial cola flavoring substances.

Side by side

What each label says. Nutrition is per 100 g (or ml) so pack and serving sizes don't skew it.

Factor Coca-Cola Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml
Total sugar
10.6 g 10.4 g
Added sugar
10.6 g 10.4 g
Protein
0 g 0 g
Sodium
8.5 mg 0.8 mg
Energy
44 kcal 42 kcal
Ingredients of concern
Colour, Acidity Regulator, Caffeine Caffeine, Colour, Acidity Regular, Flavours (Nature-Identical & Artificial (Cola), Flavoring substances
Allergens in the ingredient list

Check the pack for "may contain" warnings if you have an allergy.

None identified None identified
Pack claims checked
2 checked — 2 couldn't be verified 2 checked — 2 held up
Serving size (as printed)

Brands choose their own serving sizes, so compare the per-100 figures above.

200ml 200 ml
What we could read
6 ingredients listed; nutrition panel on file 6 ingredients listed; nutrition panel on file

What these labels can't tell us

  • How much of each ingredient is in the product — labels list order, not amounts.
  • Cross-contact on the factory line beyond any "may contain" warning, and batch-to-batch variation.
  • Anything a laboratory test would find — Decode Label reads labels; it does not test products.

Concern match

A separate lens from the overall Safety Score above — how well each product suits a specific concern, not an overall verdict. Each concern is scored 0–10: higher means less of that concern (5 ≈ neutral).

What matters most to you?

Legend
Coca-Cola Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml
Added & Hidden Sugar Even
4.5
4.5

Both Coca-Cola and Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml list sugar as their second ingredient, contributing to similar sugar content per 100g, resulting in identical scores for this concern.

Artificial Sweeteners Even
8.0
8.0

Neither Coca-Cola nor Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml list any artificial sweeteners in their ingredients, leading to both products receiving the same score.

Caffeine & Stimulant Load Even
4.0
4.0

Both Coca-Cola and Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml include caffeine in their ingredient lists, contributing to similar stimulant loads and identical scores.

Acidity & Dental Erosion Even
3.0
3.0

Both Coca-Cola and Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml contain an acidity regulator, which contributes to their similar acidity profiles and identical scores for dental erosion potential.

Artificial Colours & Dyes Even
2.5
2.5

Both Coca-Cola and Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml list 'Colour' as an ingredient, indicating the presence of artificial colours and resulting in identical scores for this concern.

Artificial Flavours Less concern: Coca-Cola +4.5
8.0
3.5

Coca-Cola lists 'Flavours' without further specification, while Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml explicitly lists 'Flavours (Nature-Identical & Artificial (Cola), Flavoring substances)', indicating a more specific disclosure of artificial flavoring substances in Thums Up.

Preservatives & Additives Even
2.5
2.5

Both Coca-Cola and Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml contain an acidity regulator and colour, which are common additives, leading to identical scores for this concern.

Empty Calories & Caloric Load Even
7.5
7.5

Both Coca-Cola and Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml have similar energy and sugar content per 100g, contributing to comparable empty calorie loads and identical scores.

Hydration & Nutritional Value Even
1.8
1.8

Both Coca-Cola and Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml are primarily composed of carbonated water and sugar, offering minimal nutritional value beyond energy, resulting in identical scores.

Coca-Cola

In its favour, from the label

  • Less specific disclosure of 'Flavours' compared to Thums Up, which explicitly lists 'Nature-Identical & Artificial (Cola), Flavoring substances'.

Label findings to note

  • Contains ammonia caramel colour (E150c/d) — which can generate 4-MEI during manufacture — IARC classifies 4-MEI as Group 2B (possibly carcinogenic to humans); this label does not state its concentration
  • Flavours not disclosed — the label does not say which substance this is
  • Contains sugar as the second ingredient, contributing to a high sugar load.
  • Lists 'Colour' without further specification, indicating artificial colorants.
  • Contains caffeine and an acidity regulator.

Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml

In its favour, from the label

  • Lower sodium content per 100g compared to Coca-Cola.
  • Explicitly discloses 'Nature-Identical & Artificial (Cola), Flavoring substances', providing more transparency regarding its flavor profile.

Label findings to note

  • Contains ammonia caramel colour (E150c/d) — which can generate 4-MEI during manufacture — IARC classifies 4-MEI as Group 2B (possibly carcinogenic to humans); this label does not state its concentration
  • Contains sugar as the second ingredient, contributing to a high sugar load.
  • Lists 'Colour' without further specification, indicating artificial colorants.
  • Contains caffeine and an acidity regulator.

Coca-Cola vs Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml — frequently asked questions

They are about the same. Coca-Cola has 10.6 g and Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml has 10.4 g of total sugar per 100 g/ml.

They are about the same. Coca-Cola has 10.6 g and Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml has 10.4 g of added sugar per 100 g/ml.

They are about the same. Coca-Cola has 0 g and Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml has 0 g of protein per 100 g/ml.

They are about the same. Coca-Cola has 8.5 mg and Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml has 0.8 mg of sodium per 100 g/ml.

Coca-Cola lists Colour, Acidity Regulator and Caffeine. Thums Up Soft Drink Pet Bottle, 750 Ml lists Caffeine, Colour, Acidity Regular and Flavours (Nature-Identical & Artificial (Cola), Flavoring substances.

Flagged ingredients in this comparison

Who classified each one, its regulation, and how common it is across the catalogue.

Comparison generated by Decode Label from each product's listed ingredients. Every score and flagged finding comes from Decode Label's rules engine; the explanations are written with AI and cannot change a score. Always read the actual label.